Senate Committee on Awards

Terms of Reference:

1. On behalf of Senate, to approve and inform Senate of all new offers and amended offers of awards that comply with the University of Manitoba’s Policy on Student Awards;

2. To review periodically the terms of awards of offers and re-offers of scholarships, bursaries, medals and prizes;

3. To review regularly the composition and operation of awards committees;

4. To shortlist candidates for the Leader of Tomorrow scholarship;

5. To recommend to Senate changes in policy relating to awards; and

6. To elect its own Chair and Vice-Chair from among the elected members of the Committee annually.


1. Six members of the academic staff, at least one of whom shall be a Senator; these six shall include at least one from each of the Faculties of Arts and Science, and at least two from professional faculties/schools

2. Two students (one graduate student and one undergraduate student)

3. Vice-Provost (Graduate Education) and Dean, Faculty of Graduate Studies (or delegate) (ex-officio)

4. Associate Registrar and Director of Financial Aid and Awards (or delegate) (ex-officio)

5. Non-voting members:

Associate Vice-President (Alumni & Donor Relations) (or delegate) (ex-officio)

University Registrar and Executive Director of Enrolment Services (or delegate) (ex-officio)

up to three Awards Establishment Coordinators and one Awards Selection Coordinator from the Financial Aid and Awards Office

Amended by Senate December 13, 1989
Amended by Senate July 6, 1994
Amended by Senate April 5, 2000
Amended by Senate October 2, 2019


Jared Carlberg, Chair
Darcy MacPherson, Vice-Chair


Pamela Gareau