# University of Manitoba Sustainability Committee Terms of Reference

## Mandate:

To provide guidance, expertise and advice on sustainability at the University of Manitoba, through being a voice for students, staff and faculty.

## **Responsibilities:**

- Provide advice to both the Vice-President (Academic) and the Vice-President (Administration) on sustainability direction, plans and reports.
- Develop and maintain the University of Manitoba *Strategic Vision for Action* on sustainability identifying recommended sustainability goals, initiatives, actions and target dates to support the Sustainability Policy.
- Assist the Office of Sustainability to educate the University community and to communicate and promote the *Strategic Vision for Action* on sustainability.
- Advocate for the Office of Sustainability and identify opportunities for partnership and collaboration.
- Collaborate with the Office of Sustainability and other units, academic and nonacademic, on priorities for action on sustainability each year.
- Participate on and collaborate with the Campus Planning and Design Committee.

#### **Meetings:**

Meetings shall be held once a month or at the call of the chair. Quorum consists of at least one representative of students, administration and faculty. Every effort will be made to ensure decisions are by consensus. In the absence of consensus, a motion shall be carried when supported by half plus one of the members present.

The Committee may from time to time create sub-committees/working groups, drawn from committee members and others, with specific and/or limited temporal and topical mandates. Sub-committees/working groups are advisory to the Committee.

Administrative support for the Committee is provided by the Office of Sustainability.

# **Reporting:**

The Sustainability Committee is advisory to the University Administration through the Vice President Administration and the Vice President Academic (and Provost) as established by the University's Sustainability Procedure.

#### Membership:

Committee members are appointed for a 3 year renewable term as established by the University Sustainability Procedures.