Grading System
Final grades in most courses are expressed as letters, ranging from D, the lowest passing grade, to A+ the highest. Each letter grade has an assigned numerical value which is used to calculate grade point averages.
Some courses are graded on a pass/fail basis and because no numerical value is assigned to these courses, they do not affect grade point averages. Courses graded in this way are clearly identified in course descriptions and program outlines.

Letter Grade Grade Point Value
A+ 4.5 Exceptional
A 4.0 Excellent
B+ 3.5 Very Good
B 3.0 Good
C+ 2.5 Satisfactory
C 2.0 Adequate
D 1.0 Marginal
F 0.0 Failure
P Null Pass

The grade of “D” is regarded as marginal in most courses by all faculties and schools. It contributes to decreasing a term, degree or cumulative Grade Point Average to less than 2.0. The course in which “D” standing is obtained need not be repeated except by probationary students in certain faculties or where a minimum grade of “C” is required in a prerequisite subject. Courses graded “D” may be repeated for the purpose of improving a GPA. Students in doubt as to the status of their record should consult an
advisor in their faculty or school.

For minimum grade levels, especially as they affect progression requirements, see the faculty or school regulations or consult an advisor.