Seminars in 2013

« Back to recent seminars

Friday, November 22
Dr. Debbie Kelly (Dept. of Psychology, University of Manitoba): “TBA”
Friday, November 15
Dr. Terrie Williams (Department of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, University of California, Santa Cruz): “Racing to Extinction: Conserving Earth's Mammalian "Super Athletes"”
Thursday, November 14
Barrett-Hamilton Lecture 2013 (Dr. Terrie Williams, Department of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, University of California, Santa Cruz): “Sensitive Cetaceans: are dolphins and whales (and other sea mammals) especially vulnerable to human disturbance?”
Friday, November 8
Dr. Wendy Untereiner (Department of Biology, Brandon University): “TBA”
Friday, October 25
Dr. Julia Bowsher (Biological Sciences, University of North Dakota): “The evolutionary history and developmental mechanisms of a complex sexual ornament”
Friday, October 11
Dr. Matthew Andrews (McKnight Presidential Professor; Director, Biology Translational Research Centre, Dept. of Biology, University of Minnesota, Duluth, Minnesota): “Nature's fat buring machine: Transcriptomics of brown adipose tissue in a hibernating mammal”
Friday, September 27
Dr. Gordon Robinson (Biological Sciences, University of Manitoba): “An eclectic journey with algae”
Friday, April 19
Dr. Piercey-Normore, Dr. Sealy, Dr. Ford, Dr. Docker (Biological Sciences, University of Manitoba): “Collections in the Department of Biological Sciences”
Friday, April 5
Dr. Scott Wilson (Dept. of Biology, University of Regina): “TBA”
Friday, March 15
Dr. Mazdak Khajehpour (Dept. of Chemistry, University of Manitoba): “"Osmolytes, denaturants and salts: how they affect hydrophobicity"”
Friday, March 1
Dr. Wendy Untereiner (Dept. of Biology, Brandon University): “"Systematics of the Boliniales and Chaetothyriales: unexpected adventures with lignicolous ascomycetes”
Friday, February 15
Dr. Andre Buret (Biological Sciences, University of Calgary): “"The role of disturbed microbiota biofilms in intestinal inflammatory disorders: Effects of Giardia infections"”
Thursday, February 14
Dr. Mark Hauber (Tentative) (Dept. of Psychology, Hunter College, CUNY): “TBA”
Friday, February 1
Dr. Colin Brauner (Dept. of Zoology, University of British Columbia): “"Ontogeny and paleophysiology of the vertebrate gill: new insights from larval and air-breathing fish"”
Friday, January 25
Dr. Beren Robinson (Dept. of Integrative Biology, University of Guelph): “"Adaptive diversification by genetic accommodation in postglacial fishes?"”
Friday, January 18
Dr. Janet Genz (Biological Sciences, University of Manitoba): “"Calcium regulation in an ancient fish"”
Upcoming Seminars

General seminar: Francis Zwiers — Friday, October 20 at 3:30 p.m., 527 Buller.

General seminar: Workshop - Image Proficiency — Monday, October 23 at 12:30 p.m., 304 Biological Sciences.

General seminar: Crackerjack Seminar - Christa Burstahler — Friday, October 27 at 3:30 p.m., 527 Buller.

General seminar: Crackerjack Seminar — Friday, October 27 at 3:30 p.m., 527 Buller.