Adjunct Faculty

The purpose of our Adjunct Professor Program is to enhance the scientific expertise of the department, provide specialized supervision of graduate students, and increase cooperation in research and teaching with other departments and institutions. Adjunct Professor duties in our department primarily involve graduate student supervision, but may also involve teaching (graduate and/or undergraduate) and service.

Adjuncts may be contacted directly for more information about their research programs and graduate student opportunities. Researchers interested in obtaining adjunct status in Biological Sciences should contact the chair of the adjunct committee, Dr. Jim Roth

Pascal Badiou, Ducks Unlimited (204-231-9424, p_badiou@ducks.ca). Wetlands & aquatic ecology. Badiou website

Rene Belland, University of Alberta (780-492-0801, rene.belland@ualberta.ca). Distribution and diversity of mosses and liverworts. Belland website

Paul Blanchfield, Fisheries & Oceans Canada (204-984-4524, Paul.Blanchfield@dfo-mpo.gc.ca). Freshwater fish ecology & behavior.

Guanqun (Gavin) Chen, University of Alberta (780-492-3148, gc24@ualberta.ca). Plant Lipid Biotechnology. Chen website

Steve Ferguson, Fisheries & Oceans Canada (204-983-5057, Steve.Ferguson@dfo-mpo.gc.ca). Arctic marine mammal population health. Ferguson website

Sara Good, University of Winnipeg (204-786-9434, s.good@uwinnipeg.ca). Genetic analysis of genomes and populations. Good website

Maria Antonia Henriquez, Agriculture Canada (204-822-7551, MariaAntonia.Henriquez@agr.gc.ca). Molecular plant pathogen interactions. Henriquez website

Scott Higgins, IISD - Experimental Lakes Area Inc (204-958-7700 x 741, shiggins@iisd-ela.org). Freshwater ecology. Higgins website

Dan Isaak, U.S. Forest Service (208-373-4385, disaak@fs.fed.us). Native fish research, conservation, and management. Isaak website

Lisa Loseto, Fisheries & Oceans Canada (204-983-5135, Lisa.Loseto@dfo-mpo.gc.ca). Arctic marine ecosystem science, marine predators & chemical biomarkers. Loseto website

Oliver Lung, National Centre for Foreign Animal Disease (204-789-2014, Oliver.Lung@inspection.gc.ca). Viral genomics.

Marianne Marcoux, Fisheries & Oceans Canada (204-983-5023, Marianne.Marcoux@dfo-mpo.gc.ca). Arctic marine mammal bioacoustics & chemical biomarkers. Marcoux website

Randy Mooi, Manitoba Museum (204-988-0659, rmooi@manitobamuseum.ca). Evolution of fishes. Mooi website

Dennis Murray, Trent University (705-748-1011 x 7078, dennismurray@trentu.ca). Predator-prey relationships & population ecology. Murray website

Stephen Petersen, Assiniboine Park Zoo (204-927-6090, spetersen@assiniboinepark.ca). Molecular ecology of Arctic marine mammals. Petersen website

Michele Piercey-Normore, Memorial University of Newfoundland (709-637-7166, mpiercey-normore@grenfell.mun.ca). Lichen systematics, secondary metabolites & symbiont interactions. Piercey-Normore website

Jim Reist, Fisheries & Oceans Canada (204-983-5032, Jim.Reist@dfo-mpo.gc.ca). Arctic fish ecology.

Mike Rennie, Lakehead University (807-346-7860, mrennie@lakeheadu.ca). Freshwater ecology & fisheries. Rennie website

Ross Tallman, Fisheries & Oceans Canada (204-983-3362, Ross.Tallman@dfo-mpo.gc.ca). Arctic fish stock assessment & integrated ecosystem research.

Cortney Watt, Fisheries & Oceans Canada (204-451-0087, Cortney.Watt@dfo-mpo.gc.ca). Arctic marine mammal foraging ecology.

Upcoming Seminars

General seminar: Francis Zwiers — Friday, October 20 at 3:30 p.m., 527 Buller.

General seminar: Workshop - Image Proficiency — Monday, October 23 at 12:30 p.m., 304 Biological Sciences.

General seminar: Crackerjack Seminar - Christa Burstahler — Friday, October 27 at 3:30 p.m., 527 Buller.

General seminar: Crackerjack Seminar — Friday, October 27 at 3:30 p.m., 527 Buller.