

202 Administration Bldg 66 Chancellors Circle Winnipeg, MB Canada R3T 2N2 T: 204 474 6915 F: 204 261 1318

CALL FOR CANADA RESEARCH CHAIR (CRC) SUBMISSIONS

FOR IMMEDIATE ATTENTION AND ACTION

January 24, 2020

TO: Deans and Directors

FROM: Dr. Digvir Jayas, Vice-President (Research and International) Dr. Janice Ristock, Provost and Vice-President (Academic)

Statel Rishele

<u>RE:</u> Call for Canada Research Chairs (CRCs) Tier 1 (Retention only)

We are initiating a call for proposals for the retention of leading scholars for the following Canada Research Chairs:

- **SSHRC:** 1 Tier 1 (retention only)
- **NSERC: 3** Tier 1 (retention only)

These Chairs are available due to completion and/or impending completion of terms and new allocated chairs to the University of Manitoba.

Program Information (internal):

As per our guidelines, Tier 1 CRCs are to be used for retention and/or advancement.

The <u>CRC Program</u> details outline the key objectives, which are to enable Canadian universities, together with their affiliated research institutes and hospitals, to foster research excellence and enhance their role as world-class centres of research excellence in the global, knowledge-based economy.

The program is designed to <u>attract</u> to Canada and <u>retain</u> in Canada, world leaders in their research fields (Tier 1 Chairs) and exceptionally talented researchers with the recognized potential to lead their research fields (Tier 2). Excellence in research is of paramount importance in the selection of Chairholders.

For Tier 1 CRCs, Units must:

- Advertise (using the attached template advertisement) on UM Careers: Academic and Staff Postings, for a minimum 30 days prior to the closing date for submission of applications. The template contains language that is required by the CRC to ensure a fair and transparent nomination process as part of its <u>Equity</u>, <u>Diversity and Inclusion</u> <u>Action Plan</u>, and The <u>UM Equity</u>, <u>Diversity</u>, and <u>Inclusion Action Plan</u> (EDI) for the Canada Research Chairs program;
- 2. Select the best candidate for submission to the VPRIO. NOTE: For NSERC, there are three positions available. Therefore, units may submit up to three best candidates to VPRIO. Submissions should include the candidate's: i) full CV; ii) the five most significant research contributions that she/he has made during her/his career and explanation of the significance; and iii) rationale why the unit chose the nominee. Submissions must also include a detailed description of the process used to select the candidate, including how the process considered and applied the University of Manitoba EDI Action plan. Note: the candidate search committee must have representation from among the underrepresented populations (women, visible minorities, Indigenous peoples, persons with disabilities). Also, all those involved in the unit's Tier 1 CRC nomination process <u>must</u> complete the <u>unconscious bias</u> training module.

If submitting more than one nomination, please indicate a rank ordering of nominations.

Complete nominations must be forwarded to the Office of the Vice-President (Research and International), 202 Administration Building or via email at: <u>Digvir.Jayas@umanitoba.ca</u> by <u>4:30</u> <u>p.m., Monday, April 20, 2020</u>. Proposals will be reviewed by the University's Selection Committee consisting of the Vice-Provost (Academic Affairs), the Associate Vice-President (Research), the Vice-President (Research and International), and the Provost and Vice-President (Academic), with the VPRI as chair of this Committee, using the <u>Assessment Grid For Tier 1</u> <u>CRCs at the UM</u>.

Based on the decision arrived at as per the process described above, unit Deans/Directors will be notified of the decision by **Friday**, **May 8**, **2020**.

The preparation of full chair nominations for <u>retentions</u> (and advancements if applicable) will have an expected **September 2020** submission deadline and will be led and facilitated by the Office of Research Services.

Please feel free to contact ORS (Tracy Mohr or Birtukan Gebretsadik) or Dr. Gary Glavin, Associate Vice-President (Research) or myself if you have any questions. We look forward to receiving your proposals.

 cc Dr. David Barnard, President and Vice-Chancellor Ms. Lynn Zapshala-Kelln, Vice-President (Administration) Mr. John Kearsey, Vice-President (External) Dr. Gary Glavin, Associate Vice-President (Research) Dr. Jay Doering, Associate Vice-President (Partnerships) Dr. Diane Hiebert-Murphy, Vice-Provost (Academic Affairs) Ms. Tracy Mohr, Director, Research Services Ms. Birtukan Gebretsadik, Research Grants Officer (CRC, CFI) Associate Deans (Research)/Research Liaison Officers

/attachs.