Canada Research Chairs

The Canada Research Chairs Program was established by the Government of Canada to attract and retain some of the world's most accomplished and promising minds.

The University of Manitoba has an allocation of 45 Canada Research Chairs. Chairholders are research leaders or rising stars in natural sciences and engineering, health sciences, or social sciences and humanities.

Janilyn Arsenio
Chair in Systems Biology of Chronic Inflammation
Internal Medicine, Max Rady College of Medicine
(204) 789-3609 Janilyn.Arsenio@umanitoba.ca

Meghan Azad
Canada Research Chair in Developmental Origins of Chronic Disease 
Pediatrics and Child Health, Max Rady College of Medicine and Children’s Hospital Research Institute of Manitoba
(204) 975-7754  mazad@chrim.ca

David Barber
Chair in Arctic System Science
Environment and Geography, Centre for Earth Observation Science, Clayton H Riddell Faculty of Environment, Earth, and Resources
(204) 474-6981  david.barber@umanitoba.ca 

Trust Beta
Chair in Grain-Based Functional Foods

Food and Human Nutritional Sciences, Faculty of Agriculture and Food Sciences
(204) 474-8214  Trust.Beta@umanitoba.ca

James Blanchard
Chair in Epidemiology and Global Public Health
Community Health Sciences, Max Rady College of Medicine
Centre for Global Public Health
(204) 789-3381  james.blanchard@umanitoba.ca

Ties Boerma
Chair in Population and Global Health 
Community Health Sciences, Max Rady College of Medicine
Ties.Boerma@umanitoba.ca

Diana Brydon
Chair in Globalization and Cultural Studies
Centre for Globalization, Faculty of Arts
Director, Centre for Globalization and Cultural Studies
(204) 474-8109  diana.brydon@umanitoba.ca 

Nediljko Budisa
Chair in Chemical Synthetic Biology
Chemistry, Faculty of Science
Nediljko.Budisa@umanitoba.ca

James Davie
Chair in Chromatin Dynamics
Biochemistry & Medical Genetics, Max Rady College of Medicine
(204) 787-2391 jim.davie@umanitoba.ca 

Frank Deer
Chair in Indigenous Education
Curr, Teaching & Learning, Faculty of Education
(204) 474-9001 frank.deer@umanitoba.ca

Annette Desmarais
Chair in Human Rights, Social Justice and Food Sovereignty
Sociology, Faculty of Arts
(204) 474-6086  annette.desmarais@umanitoba.ca 

Colin Gilmore
Chair in Applied Electromagnetic Inversion

Electrical and Computer Engineering, Faculty of Engineering
(204) 474-7638  Colin.Gilmore@umanitoba.ca

Andrew Halayko
Chair in Chronic Lung Disease Pathobiology and Treatment
Physiology, Max Rady College of Medicine and Children’s Hospital Research Institute of Manitoba
(204) 480-1327  Andrew.Halayko@umanitoba.ca 

Grant Hatch
Chair in Molecular Cardiolipin Metabolism
Pharmacology and Therapeutics/Biochemistry, Max Rady College of Medicine
(204) 789-3405  ghatch@chrim.ca 

Carl Ho
Chair in Efficient Utilization of Electric Power
Electrical and Computer Engineering, Faculty of Engineering
(204) 474-7061  carl.ho@umanitoba.ca 

Nancy Kang
Chair in Transnational Feminisms and Gender-Based Violence

Women’s and Gender Studies, Faculty of Arts
(204) 474-9643 Nancy.Kang@umanitoba.ca

Jason Kindrachuk
Canada Research Chair in Molecular Pathogenesis of Emerging
and Re-Emerging Viruses
 
Medical Microbiology, Max Rady College of Medicine
(204) 789-3807  Jason.Kindrachuk@umanitoba.ca

Kiera Ladner
Chair in Miyo we’citowin, Indigenous Governance & Digital Sovereignties
Political Studies, Faculty of Arts
(204) 474-6349  Kiera.Ladner@umanitoba.ca 

Lorenzo Livi
Chair in Complex Data
Computer Science, Faculty of Science
lorenzo.livi@umanitoba.ca

Lisa Lix
Chair in Methods for Electronic Health Data Quality
Community Health Sciences, Max Rady College of Medicine
Director Centre for Healthcare Innovation
(204) 789-3573 Lisa.Lix@umanitoba.ca

Robert Lorway
Chair in Global Intervention Politics and Social Transformation
Community Health Sciences, Max Rady College of Medicine
(204) 272-3152  Robert.Lorway@umanitoba.ca

Pourang Irani
Chair in Ubiquitous Analytics
Computer Science, Faculty of Science
(204) 474-8995  pourang.irani@umanitoba.ca

Peter Jones
Chair in Nutrition and Functional Foods
Food and Human Nutritional Sciences, Faculty of Agricultural and Food Sciences,
Richardson Centre for Functional Foods and Nutraceuticals
(204) 474-8883  peter_jones@umanitoba.ca

Debbie Kelly
Chair in Comparative Cognition
Psychology, Faculty of Arts
(204) 474-9933  debbie_kelly@umanitoba.ca

Lorrie A. Kirshenbaum
Chair in Molecular Cardiology
Physiology, Max Rady College of Medicine; Institute of Cardiovascular Sciences, St Boniface Hospital Albrechtsen Research Centre
(204) 235-3661  lorrie@sbrc.ca 

Sabine Mai
Chair in Genomic Instability and Nuclear Architecture in Cancer
Physiology and Pathophysiology, Research Institute of Oncology and Hematology, CancerCare Manitoba
(204) 787-2135 Sabine.Mai@umanitoba.ca

Salah Mahmud
Canada Research Chair in Pharmaco-Epidemiology and Vaccine Evaluation 
Community Health Sciences, Max Rady College of Medicine
(204) 272-3139  Salah.Mahmud@umanitoba.ca

Puyan Mojabi
Canada Research Chair in Electromagnetic Inversion for
Characterization and Design

Electrical and Computer Engineering, Faculty of Engineering
(204) 474-6754  Puyan.Mojabi@umanitoba.ca

Zahra Moussavi
Chair in Biomedical Engineering
Electrical and Computer Engineering, Faculty of Engineering
(204) 474 7023  zahra.moussavi@umanitoba.ca 

Nicole Rosen
Chair in Language Interaction
Linguistics, Faculty of Arts
403-393-2317  Nicole.rosen@umanitoba.ca

Kathryn Sibley
Chair in Integrated Knowledge Translation in Rehabilitation Sciences
Community Health Sciences, Max Rady College of Medicine
(204) 594-5354  Kathryn.Sibley@umanitoba.ca 

Jorg Stetefeld
Chair in Structural Biology and Biophysics
Chemistry, Faculty of Science
(204) 474-7172  jorg.stetefeld@umanitoba.ca

Jason Treberg
Chair in Metabolism and Environmental Dynamics
Biological Sciences, Faculty of Science
(204) 474-8122  jason.treberg@umanitoba.ca

Marcelo Urquia
Chair in Applied Population Health
Community Health Sciences, Max Rady College of Medicine
(204) 789-3459  marcelo_urquia@cpe.umanitoba.ca

Feiyue Wang
Chair in Arctic Environmental Chemistry
Environment & Geography, Centre for Earth Observation Sciences, Clayton H Riddell Faculty of Environment, Earth, and Resources
(204) 474-6250  Feiyue.Wang@umanitoba.ca

Tamra Werbowetski-Ogilvie
Chair in Neuro-oncology and Human Stem Cells
Biochemistry and Medical Genetics, Max Rady College of Medicine
(204) 789-3431  tamra.ogilvie@umanitoba.ca 

Roberta Woodgate
Canada Research Chair in Child and Family Engagement in Health
Research and Healthcare

College of Nursing, Rady Faculty of Health Sciences
(204) 474-8338  Roberta.Woodgate@umanitoba.ca

Zhenyu Wu
Chair in Entrepreneurship and Innovation
Business Administration, Asper School of Business
(204) 474-8425  zhenyu_wu@umanitoba.ca 

Guozhen Zhu
Canada Research Chair in Mechanical and Functional Design of
Nanostructured Materials

Mechanical Engineering, Faculty of Engineering
(204) 474-6399  Guozhen.Zhu@umanitoba.ca