University of Manitoba - Research and International - Canada Research Chairs
Canada Research Chairs

The Canada Research Chairs Program was established by the Government of Canada to attract and retain some of the world's most accomplished and promising minds.

The University of Manitoba currently holds 31 Canada Research Chairs. Chairholders are research leaders or rising stars in natural sciences and engineering, health sciences, or social sciences and humanities.

Meghan Azad
Canada Research Chair in Developmental Origins of Chronic Disease 
Pediatrics and Child Health
(204) 975-7754  mazad@chrim.ca

David Barber
Chair in Arctic System Science
Environment and Geography
(204) 474-6981  david.barber@umanitoba.ca

James Blanchard
Chair in Epidemiology and Global Public Health
Community Health Sciences
(204) 789-3381  james.blanchard@umanitoba.ca

Ties Boerma
Chair in Population and Global Health 
Community Health Sciences
Ties.Boerma@umanitoba.ca

Diana Brydon
Chair in Globalization and Cultural Studies
Centre for Globalization
(204) 474-8109  diana.brydon@umanitoba.ca

James Davie
Chair in Chromatin Dynamics
Biochemistry & Medical Genetics
(204) 787-2391 jim.davie@umanitoba.ca 

Frank Deer
Chair in Indigenous Education
Curr, Teaching & Learning
(204) 474-9001 frank.deer@umanitoba.ca

Annette Desmarais
Chair in Human Rights, Social Justice and Food Sovereignty
Sociology
(204) 474-6086  annette.desmarais@umanitoba.ca 

Andrew Halayko
Chair in Chronic Lung Disease Pathobiology and Treatment
Physiology
(204) 480-1327  Andrew.Halayko@umanitoba.ca 

Grant Hatch
Chair in Molecular Cardiolipin Metabolism
Pharmacology and Therapeutics/Biochemistry
(204) 789-3405  ghatch@chrim.ca

Jason Kindrachuk
Canada Research Chair in Molecular Pathogenesis of Emerging
and Re-Emerging Viruses
 
Medical Microbiology
(204) 789-3807  Jason.Kindrachuk@umanitoba.ca

Robert Lorway
Chair in Global Intervention Politics and Social Transformation
Community Health Sciences
(204) 272-3152  Robert.Lorway@umanitoba.ca

Ngai-Man (Carl) Ho
Chair in Efficient Utilization of Electric Power

Electrical & Computer Engineering
(204) 474-7061  carl.ho@umanitoba.ca 

Pourang Irani
Chair in Ubiquitous Analytics
Computer Science
(204) 474-8995  pourang.irani@umanitoba.ca

Peter Jones
Chair in Nutrition and Functional Foods
Agriculture and Food Sciences
(204) 474-8883  peter_jones@umanitoba.ca

Debbie Kelly
Chair in Comparative Cognition
Psychology
(204) 474-9933  debbie_kelly@umanitoba.ca

Lorrie A. Kirshenbaum
Chair in Molecular Cardiology
Physiology
(204) 235-3661  lorrie@sbrc.ca

Salah (Salaheddin) Mahmud
Canada Research Chair in Pharmaco-Epidemiology and Vaccine Evaluation 
Community Health Sciences
(204) 272-3139  Salah.Mahmud@umanitoba.ca

Puyan Mojabi
Canada Research Chair in Electromagnetic Inversion for
Characterization and Design

Electrical and Computer Engineering
(204) 474-6754  Puyan.Mojabi@umanitoba.ca

Zahra Kazem-Moussavi
Chair in Biomedical Engineering
Electrical and Computer Engineering
(204) 474 7023  zahra.moussavi@umanitoba.ca 

Michael Pickles
Chair in Mathematical Modeling and Global Public Health
Community Health Sciences
picklesm@umanitoba.ca 

Nicole Rosen
Chair in Language Interaction
Linguistics
403-393-2317  Nicole.rosen@umanitoba.ca

Kathryn Sibley
Chair in Integrated Knowledge Translation in Rehabilitation Sciences
Community Health Sciences
(204) 594-5354  Kathryn.Sibley@umanitoba.ca 

Jorg Stetefeld
Chair in Structural Biology and Biophysics
Biochemistry 
(204) 474-7172  jorg.stetefeld@umanitoba.ca

Jason Treberg
Chair in Metabolism and Environmental Dynamics
Biological Sciences
(204) 474-8122  jason.treberg@umanitoba.ca

Marcelo Urquia
Chair in Applied Population Health
Community Health Sciences
(204) 789-3459  marcelo_urquia@cpe.umanitoba.ca

Feiyue Wang
Chair in Arctic Environmental Chemistry
Environment & Geography
(204) 474-6250  Feiyue.Wang@umanitoba.ca

Tamra Werbowetski-Ogilvie
Chair in Neuro-oncology and Human Stem Cells
Biochemistry and Medical Genetics
(204) 789-3431  tamra.ogilvie@umanitoba.ca 

Roberta Woodgate
Canada Research Chair in Child and Family Engagement in Health
Research and Healthcare

College of Nursing
(204) 474-8338  Roberta.Woodgate@umanitoba.ca

Zhenyu Wu
Chair in Entrepreneurship and Innovation
Business Administration
(204) 474-8425  zhenyu_wu@umanitoba.ca 

Guozhen Zhu
Canada Research Chair in Mechanical and Functional Design of
Nanostructured Materials

Mechanical Engineering
(204) 474-6399  Guozhen.Zhu@umanitoba.ca