Canada Research Chairs

The Canada Research Chairs Program was established by the Government of Canada to attract and retain some of the world's most accomplished and promising minds.

The University of Manitoba currently holds 29 Canada Research Chairs. Chairholders are research leaders or rising stars in natural sciences and engineering, health sciences, or social sciences and humanities.

David Barber
Chair in Arctic System Science
Environment and Geography
(204) 474-6981

James Blanchard
Chair in Epidemiology and Global Public Health
Community Health Sciences
(204) 789-3381

Ties Boerma
Chair in Population and Global Health 
Community Health Sciences

Diana Brydon
Chair in Globalization and Cultural Studies
Centre for Globalization
(204) 474-8109

Warren Cariou
Chair in Narrative, Community and Indigenous Cultures
English, Film and Theatre
(204) 474-7276

James Davie
Chair in Chromatin Dynamics
Biochemistry & Medical Genetics
(204) 787-2391 

Frank Deer
Chair in Indigenous Education
Curr, Teaching & Learning
(204) 474-9001

Marc Del Bigio
Chair in Developmental Neuropathology
(204) 789-3378

Annette Desmarais
Chair in Human Rights, Social Justice and Food Sovereignty
(204) 474-6086

Michelle Driedger
Chair in Environment and Health Risk Communication
Community Health Sciences
(204) 789-3936 

Andrew Halayko
Chair in Chronic Lung Disease Pathobiology and Treatment
(204) 480-1327

Michael Anthony Hart
Chair in Indigenous Knowledges and Social Work
Social Work
(204) 474-9237

Grant Hatch
Chair in Molecular Cardiolipin Metabolism
Pharmacology and Therapeutics/Biochemistry
(204) 789-3405

Jason Kindrachuk
Canada Research Chair in Molecular Pathogenesis of Emerging and Re-Emerging Viruses 
Medical Microbiology
(204) 789-3807

Robert Lorway
Chair in Global Intervention Politics and Social Transformation
Community Health Sciences
(204) 272-3152

Ngai-Man (Carl) Ho
Chair in Efficient Utilization of Electric Power

Electrical & Computer Engineering
(204) 474-7061 

Pourang Irani
Chair in Ubiquitous Analytics
Computer Science
(204) 474-8995

Peter Jones
Chair in Nutrition and Functional Foods
Agriculture and Food Sciences
(204) 474-8883

Debbie Kelly
Chair in Comparative Cognition
(204) 474-9933

Lorrie A. Kirshenbaum
Chair in Molecular Cardiology
(204) 235-3661

Salah (Salaheddin) Mahmud
Canada Research Chair in Pharmaco-Epidemiology and Vaccine Evaluation 
Community Health Sciences
(204) 272-3139

Zahra Kazem-Moussavi
Chair in Biomedical Engineering
Electrical and Computer Engineering
(204) 474 7023 

Michael Pickles
Chair in Mathematical Modeling and Global Public Health
Community Health Sciences 

Nicole Rosen
Chair in Language Interaction

Samar Safi-Harb
Chair in Supernova Astrophysics 
Physics and Astronomy
(204) 474-7104

Kathryn Sibley
Chair in Integrated Knowledge Translation in Rehabilitation Sciences
Community Health Sciences
(204) 594-5354 

Jorg Stetefeld
Chair in Structural Biology and Biophysics
(204) 474-7172

Jason Treberg
Chair in Metabolism and Environmental Dynamics
Biological Sciences
(204) 474-8122

Marcelo Urquia
Chair in Applied Population Health
Community Health Sciences
(204) 789-3459

Feiyue Wang
Chair in Arctic Environmental Chemistry
Environment & Geography
(204) 474-6250

Tamra Werbowetski-Ogilvie
Chair in Neuro-oncology and Human Stem Cells
Biochemistry and Medical Genetics
(204) 789-3431

Zhenyu Wu
Chair in Entrepreneurship and Innovation
Business Administration
(204) 474-8425