Celebrating Indigenous educators

February 4th, 2013 · No Comments · Aboriginal, Alumni, Education, Indigenous, News Release, Outreach, Peace and Justice, Staff, Students

The University of Manitoba is honoured to be home to a dynamic community of Indigenous students, alumni, faculty and staff. We are proud to announce the following recent award recipients, recognized as visionaries and advocates of excellence in Indigenous education:

Christine Cyr (BA/99), Aboriginal student recruitment officer, was awarded the Future Leaders of Manitoba Award for Community Service for her work in Aboriginal recruitment at the University of Manitoba and for her work in Career Trek, Southeast Child and Family Services, The United Way, and other boards and committees. The Future Leaders of Manitoba Council (FLMC) is a group of young professional Manitobans who believe that the future of our Province relies on our ability to encourage and attract exceptional young people to live, work and thrive in Manitoba.

The following members of the University of Manitoba Indigenous community were presented with awards in a variety of categories at last week’s awards ceremony hosted by the Aboriginal Circle of Excellence (ACE):

Diana Hooper (BEd/84), program administrator, Extended Education: Research and Curriculum Development Award
Sister Margaret Hughes (BA/73), Honouring Our Allies Award
Wab Kinew (BA/03), Aboriginal Language Education Award
Renee McGurry (DipEd/05, DipEd/10), Trailblazer Lifetime Achievement Award
Kim Midford (BPE/76, CertEd/77), Honouring Our Allies Award
Florence Paynter (MEd/91), Elder-in-Residence, Aboriginal Student Centre: Honouring our Elders Award
Niigaanwewidam James Sinclair, Native studies, Faculty of Arts: Research and Curriculum Development Award
Jennifer Storm (BA/09), Aboriginal student recruitment officer, Student Recruitment (and University of Manitoba student): Leadership, Sustaining our Ways Award

Originally known as the Aboriginal Teachers Circle, the Aboriginal Circle of Educators (ACE) was established in 1987 as a grassroots, non-profit organization. It was founded for the purpose of providing a support and networking place for its members and has gradually taken a greater role in addressing the issues and challenges that face Aboriginal teachers and students. ACE has developed and persevered on the voluntarism of its membership, promoting and supporting Aboriginal education in various capacities. In 2006, ACE established its annual Aboriginal Education Awards banquet to celebrate the work of educators and allies.

In total, seven of twelve ACE awards were given to members of the UM Indigenous community, including students, staff and alumni.  

For more information, please contact Andrea Bilash at 204-480-1473

Tags: ····