About Oral Biology

The Department of Oral Biology is housed in the Faculty of Dentistry, at the downtown (Bannatyne) campus of the University of Manitoba. Also present at this location are the Faculty of Medicine, the Schools of Medical and Occupational Rehabilitation and the School of Dental Hygiene. Associated hospital facilities include the Health Sciences Center and its various branches and the Manitoba Institute of Cell Biology.

Oral Biology teaches the majority of the basic sciences to Dental students including anatomy, biochemistry, cell biology, immunology, microbiology, pathology, pharmacology and physiology. In addition the Department has an active  graduate program which, through the wide range of interests and background of its faculty members, prepares students for research in the basic medical/dental science areas.

Xray Key

The department, through its conjoint members also participates in teaching medical students. Currently the Department has sixteen faculty members including four conjoint members associated with the Department of Anatomy. Oral Biology is responsible for eleven interdisciplinary courses in the undergraduate dental program, five courses in the two-year dental hygiene program and offers eight courses at the graduate level.

The department occupies about 10,000 square feet of office and laboratory space, almost equally divided between the basement and third floor of the Dental School. During the building expansion carried out in 1989-90, part of the third floor space was extensively modified to consolidate and upgrade research facilities for tissue culture and to develop space for communal equipment.

Members of Oral Biology undertake active research collaboration with researchers at universities in Canada and the United States, as well as in England, Ireland, Denmark, Sweden, The Netherlands, Japan, New Zealand and Australia.

Lung Lab