

SENATE COMMITTEE ON ADMISSIONS

Terms of Reference:

- 1. To recommend to Senate on all matters relating to admissions to all undergraduate programs leading to a degree or diploma in the University. Without limiting the generality of the foregoing, these matters shall include:
 - a) the minimum standards for admission and criteria for selection used by faculties and schools of the University;
 - b) the transfer of students between faculties and schools within the University and from other post-secondary institutions;
 - c) the admission of Mature Students;
 - d) the nomination of University representatives to serve on other bodies concerned with admission of postsecondary institutions and the consideration of reports or requests for recommendations from these bodies;
- 2. To approve on behalf of Senate those courses added to the high school program which will be used for admission, following receipt of a statement from the Department of Education;
- 3. To recommend to Senate upon requests by post-secondary institutions for "recognition" by the University of Manitoba in order to grant admission, and possibly advance standing, to students from those institutions.

Composition:

- 1. Provost and Vice-President (Academic) (or designate), as Chair
- 2. Vice-Provost (Students) (or designate)
- 3. University Registrar and Executive Director of Enrolment Services
- 4. Deans of the Faculty of Arts, the Faculty of Science and the Rady Faculty of Health Sciences (or designates)
- 1. Two Deans of Faculties or Directors of Schools to be elected by Senate for three-year terms from faculties or schools other than the Faculty of Arts, Faculty of Science or the Rady Faculty of Health Sciences
- 2. Six members of the academic staff elected by Senate for three-year terms. Of the six, at least three shall be members of Senate. No two shall be from the same faculty or school
- 5. Three students
- 6. Deputy Minister of Education (or designate)
- 7. One counsellor from a senior high school to be nominated by the Manitoba School Counsellors' Association for a three-year term.