

## UNIVERSITY OF MANITOBA

## **GENERAL STATEMENT**

## Faculties, Schools, Departments and their Councils

The Board of Governors under Section 16(1)(e) of <u>The University of Manitoba Act</u> has the power to establish faculties and departments. The Senate, under Section 34(1)(d), has the power to establish faculty/school councils and other bodies within the University, to prescribe how they shall be constituted, and to confer upon them such powers, and assign to them such duties as Senate deems expedient. Pursuant to its power, the Board of Governors has established many faculties and schools, as well as departments, within the University. Senate, for its part, has passed a by-law which generally regulates the activity of all faculty and school councils within the University and has, in addition, passed separate by-laws for each individual faculty and school council.

Each faculty and school is therefore governed in part by by-laws of the Board, in part by by-laws of Senate, and in part by by-laws of the individual faculty or school council. The faculty or school council is established and regulated under two Senate documents: the Faculty and School Council General By-Law and the individual by-law affecting each faculty or school. Amendment of an individual faculty or school council by-law involves a vote of both the relevant faculty or school and of Senate. To ascertain the powers of a faculty or school council it is necessary to examine the provisions in both documents. Additionally, to ascertain the duties, responsibilities and powers of a Dean or Director, it is necessary to examine the by-laws of the Board of Governors relating to these officers.

Senate has also provided for the establishment of councils within all departments of the University. However, unlike faculty councils, which are established and regulated by a Senate by-law, Senate has delegated to the individual faculties and school councils the power to establish and regulate department councils where applicable within a faculty or school. The powers of various departments and the inter-relationships between the department council and its head, the Dean, and the faculty or school council, are governed by by-laws of the Board, University policy as contained in the *General Statement of Policy Concerning Organization and Administration of Departments of the University* (approved by Senate at its meeting on 7 September 1971 and ratified by the Board of Governors), and by the respective by-laws passed by the faculty or school councils establishing such department councils pursuant to Senate policy. For further clarification of the inter-relationships between these persons and bodies, refer to the report of the Committee on Rules and Procedures implementing University policy with respect to department councils, presented to Senate 18 April 1972. Additionally, to

ascertain the duties, responsibilities and powers of a department head, refer to the bylaw of the Board of Governors relating to this officer.

For further information, consult:

- 1. The University of Manitoba Act
- 2. University of Manitoba Governing Documents
- 3. Faculty and School Councils General By-Law
- 4. Individual Faculty/School Council By-Laws
- 5. Department Council By-Laws