Educational Equity

Definitions of Priority Group Members*

Aboriginal People are all Indigenous peoples of Canada including: First Nations, Metis, Dene, and Inuit.

Person with Disabilities are those who would consider themselves disadvantaged by reason of any physical, intellectual, mental, sensory or learning impairment.

Visible Minorities: Persons other than Aboriginal People who, because of their colour, are a visible minority in Canada.

LGBTTQ are persons who self identify as lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender/transsexual, two-spirited, queer or questioning.  While this definition is intended to be inclusive of sexual and gender variations, we recognize it is not meant to be exhaustive or excluding.

Immigrants (Permanent Residents): Immigrants are those who do not record Canadian Citizenship by birth, and whose native tongue is not English.

Refugees: a Refugee is an individual who has left her/his country of residence because of persecution for belonging to a particular social, cultural, religious and/or national group, and/or for holding particular political beliefs, and has been accepted for residence in Canada.

*Educational Equity Initiative applies to Canadian Citizens and Permanent Residents in Canada. EE Priority Groups do not pertain to International Applicants and Visa Students.