2018/19 Scheduled Colloquia
Please click here to jump to the Winter sessions ...

Fall 2018

 

Friday, Sep. 14
4:00 pm

Talks by a M.Sc. student, a Ph.D. student, and a Post Doctoral Fellow from the Department of Physics and Astronomy ; Homegrown research in Microwave Imaging, Winds from Neutron Stars, and Ultrasound Wave Transport.

Thursday, Sep. 20
6:00 pm

Public Talk by Anita Guerrini in Robert Schultz Lecture, see next item for more details

Friday, Sep. 21
12:00 pm

Robin Connor Series with Anita Guerrini, U of Oregon, (Corvallis), William Hunter and Eighteenth-Century Anatomical Collections, held in 307 Tier Building. Also a public talk  on Sept 20. More information can be found here.

Sep.24 to Sep. 28 Rebecca Kamen's Art and Science visit.
see http://www.sci.umanitoba.ca/rebecca-kamen for more information.

Friday, Sep. 28
2 pm

Faculty of Science
Shawn Qu, UofM Physics Alumnus
More information here.

Fri, Oct. 5
4 pm
330 Allen

Alessandro Pilloni, JSA Promising Young Scientist
Challenges in Hadron Spectroscopy (abstract)

Fri, Oct.12
4 pm
330 Allen

Benoit Tallon, U. of Manitoba, "Come and see how oil droplets slow down the propagation of sound waves" (abstract)

Friday, Oct. 19
4:00 pm

 Andrew Yau, U. of Calgary.

Friday, Oct. 26
4:00 pm

John Walker, U. of Winnipeg, TRIUMF

Fri, Nov. 2
330 Allen
4:00 pm

Yjan Gordon, U. of Manitoba (abstract)

Fri, Nov. 9
330 Allen
4:00 pm

Graduate Students Colloquium (abstract)

Fri Nov 16

Term Break

Fri Nov 23
3:00 pm

Faculty of Science
Peter Bubenik, University of Florida (Gainesville)
(abstract)

Fri Nov 30
4 pm
330 Allen

Maxime Lanoy, U. of Manitoba
taming sound waves with air bubbles (abstract)

Wed Dec 5
3:30 pm
330 Allen

 Jesko Sirker, U. of Manitoba (abstract)
Ergodicity and Thermalization in closed Quantum Systems

Friday, Dec. 7
4:00 pm

Last day of class

Winter 2018

 

Fri, Jan 11
3:30 pm
330 Allen

Adrian Vantyghem, U. of Manitoba
Mapping the coldest gas in the biggest galaxies in the Universe
(abstract)

Fri, Jan 18
3:00 pm

Faculty of Science
Kristi Miller-Saunders, Pacific Biological Station (Nanaimo, BC)

Fri, Jan 25

 Luc Beaulieu, U. of Laval

Fri, Feb 1

Sarah Gallagher, U. Western Ontario, Science Advisor at Canadian Space Agency

Fri, Feb 8

Arrangements being made. Reserved.

Mon, Feb 11

David Morrissey (TRIUMF)

Friday, Feb. 15

Taylor Sparks, U. of Utah

Friday, Feb. 22

Term Break

Friday, Mar. 1

Arrangements being made. Reserved.

Friday, Mar. 8

Jorge Piekarewicz, Florida State University

Friday, Mar. 15
3:00 pm

Faculty of Science
Juliette Legler, Brunel University (London)

Friday, Mar. 22

 Robert Green, U. of Saskatchewan

Friday, Mar. 29

 Prasenjit Saha (ICS, University of Zurich)

Friday, Apr. 5
2:00 pm

 Michel Dumontier, Maastricht University (Amsterdam)