Congratulations Professor Emeritus Recipients
posted 8 August 2011

The Faculty of Science extends its congratulations to our most recent recipients of the Professor Emeritus title.

Individuals nominated for the title must have rendered distinguished service to the university through their teaching, research, and scholarship.  Evidence of excellence in teaching may include awards, evaluations by students, assessment of peers, testimonials from former students, a record of course and curriculum development, innovations in teaching methods and a corpus of work relating to teaching and learning.

Evidence of excellence in research, scholarship and creative work may include awards and recognitions reviewed and juried works, refereed publications, invited lectureships, success in grant and other competitions and testimonials from peers.
Nominations are forwarded by faculty and school councils to the chancellor’s committee.  The chancellor, on behalf of the University of Manitoba, formally confers the emeritus designation annually at a special ceremony to publicly recognize their contributions.  The 2011 ceremony took place on June 28.

Harry Duckworth. B.Sc. (Hons.) (McMaster), Ph.D. (Yale)

Dr. Harry Duckworth is a world-renowned expert on the structure and function of citrate synthase.  He has a long and distinguished research career in which he introduced numerous new techniques to bear on the workings of the enzyme. 
After starting to successfully apply nuclear magnetic resonance in 1981, he began to use mass spectrometry in the 1990s; his collaboration with K.G. Standing, W. Ens and others was recognized in 2007 by the prestigious NSERC Brockhouse Prize.  He also received the UMSU/University Teach Service/Teacher Recognition Award in 1998.

Spencer Sealy, B.Sc. (Alberta), M.Sc. (UBC), Ph.D. (Michigan)

Dr. Spencer Sealy served the University of Manitoba for 40 years.  His research and fieldwork experimentation on seabird-breeding adaptation and behavioural/evolutionary ecology of avian brood parasitism provided seminal concepts for conservation management, sustainability and biodiversity through studies of system intricacies, selection pressures, host-parasite species co-evolution and population behaviour.  He received lifetime achievement awards from the Canadian Ornithologists (2004), the Pacific Seabird Group (2005) and the American Ornithologists’ Union (2008).  In 1992, the species Skrjabinoclava sealyi was named after him.

Dr. Harry Duckworth, Professor Emeritus

Dr. Spencer Sealy, Professor Emeritus