About the Faculty of Science
The Faculty of Science is one of the largest academic and administrative units.  The operating budget is in excess of $30 million and research grants amount to approximately $7.2 million.  There are seven departments and several support units.

There are more than 176 full-time academic staff and 83 full-time support staff.  There are numerous part-time and seasonal employees in both categories plus post-doctoral fellows and professional and research associates. The Faculty of Science currently holds eight Canada Research Chairs. Chairholders are research leaders or rising stars in natural sciences and engineering, health sciences, or social sciences and humanities.

Current enrolment is approximately 4,125 undergraduate students with more than that number from other faculties and University 1 seeking courses from Science.  The Faculty operates a special Pre-Medical Studies Program in cooperation with the Extended Education Division.


Faculty of Science Strategic Plans

History of the Faculty of Science