Manitoba Population Mental Health Research Group

Group Leader:  Jitender Sareen, MD

Mission: To investigate mental health with the use of epidemiologic studies to advance knowledge that improves patient care, and facilitates the development of evidence-based policy.

Vision: The group brings together investigators across different departments who have demonstrated excellence in population mental health research.  Together the Group is tackling important issues for Canadians (eg. First Nations suicide, miliary mental health, suicide, adolescent mental health and injuries).  With complementary expertise from clinical, biomedical, and statistical expertise, this group has demonstrated the capacity for conducting high-quality, internationally recognized research work.  The group is strongly linked with local and national policy-makers such that it can inform policy.  A strong focus of the research group is to develop the next generation of population mental health researchers.

Faculty Members at the University of Manitoba
Jitender Sareen, MD
Laurence Katz, MD
Tracie Afifi, PhD
James Bolton, MD
Sarvesh Logsetty, MD
Murray W. Enns, MD
Renee El-Gabalawy, PhD (Candidate)
Natalie Mota, PhD (Candidate)

Research Associates
Corinne Isaak, MSc.
Jacquelyne Wong, MA

Graduate Students
Joanna Bhaskaran
Hayley Chartrand
Kristene Cheung
Tracy Deboer
Julie Erickson
Cara Katz
Jolene Kinley
Ryan Nicholson
Jason Randall
Kristin Reynolds
Leslie Roos
Rae Spiwak
Tammy Taillieu
Sarah Turner
Yunqiao Wang

Lab Assistants
Antonio Cianflone
Maala Sharma
Vishal Thakur

Dea de Jarisco

Jolene Kinley, PhD
Kristen Klassen, PhD
Shay-Lee Bolton, PhD

To learn more about the group and thier activities, visit:


Manitoba Population Mental Health Research Group Facebook Page 


Manitoba Population Mental Health Research Group  Twitter Feed 


For More Information Contact

Jitender Sareen, B.Sc., M.D., FRCPC*
PZ-430 PsycHealth Centre
771 Bannatyne Avenue
Winnipeg, MB, R3E 3N4
(Phone) 204-787-7078
(Fax) 204-787-4879
*denotes Medical Corporation