Department of Obstetrics & Gynecology Awards 2018

Post Graduate Medical Education

National Faculty Award for Excellence in Resident Education - Dr. Margaret Burnett

The recipient of this award is a faculty member who was nominated by the residents in the Obstetrics and Gynecology department for their excellence in resident education.


The following award recipients were selected by the faculty members in the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology at the University of Manitoba.


Dr. Max Rady Memorial Prize – Dr. Paige Isabey

The prize is awarded annually to an outstanding PGY2 resident in Obstetrics and Gynecology

Dr. Marvin Raynes Award – Dr. Heather Watson

Promotes CanMeds Health Advocate Role
This award is given to the resident who demonstrates a sustained commitment to health advocacy for individual patients and for groups

Dr. Michael Bruser Memorial Award – Dr. Rachelle Govia
The award goes to the resident who takes an active, evidence-based approach to obstetrical care and promotes the development of new knowledge in fetal physiology or fetal heart monitoring.

Dr. I. C. & Mrs. M. Peever Memorial Prize – Dr. Devon Enns

Promotes CanMeds Professional Role
The prize is awarded to a postgraduate resident of exceptional promise in obstetrics and gynecology based on clinical competency. 

Dr. A. A. Earn Award – Dr. Roan Crow

Promotes CanMeds Collaborator Role
This prize is awarded to a resident who effectively works within a healthcare team to achieve optimal patient care.

Best Grand Rounds – Dr. Devon Evans

"Placentia Accreta Spectrum Disorders - Modern Best Practice"
This award selection was made by both faculty and peers.

Annual Department Research Day Award – Dr. Rachelle Govia

"Assessing the Amniotic Fluid Microbiome using high-throughput sequencing - a pilot study"




Dr. Margaret Burnett - 2018
National Faculty Award for
Resident Education