Section of Neurology
The Section of Neurology at the University of Manitoba is based at the Health Sciences Centre and St. Boniface Hospital. There are 29 neurologists in the Section of Neurology. Neurology outpatient clinics (some multidisciplinary) are held at Health Sciences Centre (HSC), St. Boniface Hospital (SBH), Victoria Hospital (Bairdmore Clinic), and Grace Hospital. There are Neurology inpatients at HSC and a Neurology consultation service at SBH. There is clinical and research expertise in multiple sclerosis, stroke, epilepsy, movement disorders, neuro-ophthalmology, neuromuscular diseases, basic neurophysiology, and neurological infectious diseases. Multiple sclerosis epidemiology is a particular research strength with an international reputation and considerable research funding and productivity. There is a highly successful adult neurology residency training program with 10 current trainees.