University of Manitoba - Clayton Riddell Faculty of Environment, Earth, and Resources - Congratulations Spring 2018 Graduates and Award Winners!
Congratulations Spring 2018 Graduates and Award Winners!

University of Manitoba Gold Medal for Highest Standing in the Clayton H. Riddell Faculty – Katarina Djordjevic, Bachelors of Environmental Studies (Honours)

Program Medals - Awarded for highest standing in a Clayton H. Riddell Faculty program.

•    Honours Degree – Nicole Loeb, Bachelor of Physical Geography
•    Major/Advanced Degree – Edward Shao, Bachelor of Environmental Studies
•    General Degree – Rebecca Martens, Bachelor of Arts in Geography

Graduate Awards

Weir Award— for the most outstanding Master's Thesis presented by a student in the Department of Environment & Geography. – Annie Eastwood.

Karen Palidwor Memorial Fellowship in Forest and Wildlife Management — for a student at the Natural Resources Institute conducting research addressing wildlife/forestry management interaction in Manitoba and working on a thesis project which will result in a practical application of sustainable forest management – Keshab Thapa

Henley Graduate Scholarship in Natural Resources Development & Stewardship Manitoba – for an outstanding student pursuing studies in natural resources management. – Anderson Assuah

Berkes Graduate Scholarship for a student who is enrolled full-time in the Faculty of Graduate Studies, in any Master’s or Doctoral program delivered by a unit in the Riddell Faculty, with good academic standing who is pursuing studies in community-based research methods including, but not limited to, community-based resource and environmental management, conservation and planning. – Rajib Biswal

Stantec Graduate Fellowship in Environment, Earth, and Resources for a student whom is enrolled full-time in the Faculty of Graduate Studies in the second year of a Masters’ program delivered by the Clayton H. Riddell Faculty of Environment, Earth, and Resources at the University of Manitoba and is working on an approved Master’s thesis focused on one or more areas of interest to Stantec, including: environmental assessment, energy and resources, water, mining, and/or infrastructure. – Tassia Stainton

The Sally and Keith Caldwell Teaching Assistant Award – awarded to students whom demonstrate passion and ability in their field of study and in the sub-discipline being taught. They must be high-achieving, outgoing, helpful, and invested in the teaching enterprise. – Tassia Stainton and Kevin Ramlakhan

Oakes-Riewe Environmental Studies Research Award for students enrolled full-time in the Faculty of Graduate Studies at the University of Manitoba, either in a Master’s or Ph.D. program; and are conducting or have proposed to conduct interdisciplinary environmental (integration of physical, biological, and human processes) research within an Aboriginal context. – Chloe Rodrigues, Jessica Lang, and Demi Gagnon

Graduate Initiative Prize - For a student who is enrolled full-time in the Faculty of Graduate Studies, in any Master’s or Doctoral program delivered by a unit in the Riddell Faculty, who has demonstrated a commitment to voluntary service that has developed, built upon and/or contributed to a local, regional, national, or international initiative that serves the greater good – Skye Kushner

Undergraduate Awards

Undergraduate Thesis Prize. This is awarded for the student who has submitted the best undergraduate thesis. This year the Undergraduate Thesis Prize went to two outstanding students – Katarina Djordjevic and Ryan Desjarlais

Mark G. Smerchanski Memorial Prize for a student who has successfully completed the Bachelor of Science in Geological Sciences (Honours) or (Major) degree Geology or Geophysics Option, and has achieved the highest aggregate mark in courses offered by the Department of Geological Sciences – James Macdonald

NSERC Undergraduate Student Research Awards and Undergraduate Research Awards – These awards are intended to stimulate the interest of undergraduate students in research by providing them with valuable experience in a scientific research environment, and to encourage them to undertake graduate studies – Yekaterina Yezhova, Daniel Stasolla, Scott Jordan, Erin Wieler, Rachel Mandryk, Dale Maxwell, Teresinha Wolfe, Kendra Small,      Justin Krysanski, Danielle Desrochers, Katarina Djordjevic       

Undergraduate Research Awards – Laura Lucas, Emily Unger, Braeden Humeniuk, Emily Thoroski, Sonya Michaleski

Other Notables

Students’ Teacher Recognition

This award gives an outstanding graduating student the opportunity to honour the teacher who has made an important contribution to their education.  
Dr. Jonathan Peyton was selected by Katarina Djordjevic for recognition under the 2018 Students’ Teacher Recognition Program organized by University Teaching Services.

Award of Excellence for First Year Undergraduate Teaching – Leslie  Goodman

Award of Excellence for Undergraduate Teaching – Warren Bernauer

Graduate Student Teaching Award – Jill Bueddefeld


Spring 2018 Riddell Graduates.pdf: