University of Manitoba - Faculty of Arts - Research - Canada Research Chairs from the Faculty of Arts
Canada Research Chairs from the Faculty of Arts

Established in 2000, the Canada Research Chairs Program stands at the centre of a national strategy to make Canada one of the world’s top five countries for research and development. Chairholders advance the frontiers of knowledge in their fields, not only through their own work, but also by teaching and supervising students and coordinating the work of other researchers.

The University of Manitoba currently holds 31 Canada Research Chairs. Four of these Chairs are housed in the Faculty of Arts. Our chairholders are research leaders or rising stars in the social sciences and humanities and natural sciences.

Diana Brydon, Department of English, Theatre, Film & Media, SSHRC Tier 1 chair in Globalization and Cultural Studies

Annette Desmarais, Department of Sociology, SSHRC Tier 2 in Human Rights, Social Justice and Food Sovereignty

Debbie Kelly, Department of Psychology, NSERC Tier 2 chair in Comparative Cognition

Nicole Rosen, Department of Linguistics, SSHRC Tier 2 CRC in Language Interaction

For more information, please visit the Canada Research Chairs web site: