

Date: September 11, 2020

To: All Faculty members, all students

The following candidates from the Faculty of Arts will have a promotion hearing this fall/winter:

Dimitrios Dentsoras, Department of Philosophy Annette Desmarais, Department of Sociology and Criminology Laura Funk, Department of Sociology and Criminology Royce Koop, Department of Political Studies Richard Kruk, Department of Political Studies Richard, Department of Philosophy Karine Levasseur, Department of Political Studies Mark Libin, Department of English, Theatre, Film & Media Neil McArthur, Department of Philosophy Greg Smith, Department of History

I invite any submissions you may wish to make regarding the candidates with respect to their research, teaching, or service (departments, please forward this request to students). All submissions will be shared with each applicant's promotion committee (the applicant receives a redacted copy of the letter with the writer's name and signature removed, and the Committee members receive the letter in its entirety). Submissions must be sent via email to Jennifer.Chappellaz@umanitoba.ca and must arrive no later than October 12, 2020.

Late submissions will not be accepted.

IMPORTANT NOTE: Your submission must include nothing (other than your name and signature) that could identify who you are - - it should contain information about <u>the applicant pertaining to their research, teaching, or service</u> (not details about how you know the applicant, or when you met the applicant, or worked with the applicant, etc.).

The document, *Promotion in the Faculty of Arts: Procedures and Criteria*, is available on the Faculty of Arts web site: <u>https://intranet.umanitoba.ca/faculties/arts/2982.html</u>

Thank you.

SAP.

Dr. Jeffery Taylor Dean, Faculty of Arts