Faculty

Can't find a name?

See our other People pages or try searching the UM People Search Directory

 Daniel Albas, Professor
 [photo not available]

Social Psychology

Nonverbal Communication

Sociology of Education

Daniel.Albas@umanitoba.ca

204-474-9389

325 Isbister Building

Faculty Profile

 

 Charles Axelrod, Associate Professor
 [photo not available]

Classical Theory

Sociology of Knowledge

Sociology of Religion

Charles.Axelrod@umanitoba.ca

204-474-8458

301-D Isbister Building

 

 Sonia Bookman, Associate Professor
 [photo not available]

Sociology of Brands and Branding

Cities and Cosumption

Cosmopolitanism and Culture

Film and Urban Imaginaries

Sonia.Bookman@umanitoba.ca

204-474-7832

334 Isbister Building

Faculty Profile

 

David Camfield, Associate Professor (cross-appointment with Labour Studies)

 [photo not available]

Social Theory (especially Marxism)

Unions and Workers' Movements

Racism, Sexism, and Heterosexism

Work

David.Camfield@umanitoba.ca

204-474-6160

116 Isbister Building

Faculty Profile

 

 Elizabeth Comack, Professor
 [photo not available]

Social Justice

Socio-Legal Studies

Feminist Criminology

Elizabeth.Comack@umanitoba.ca

204-474-9673

301-A Isbister Building

Faculty Profile

 

Frank Cormier, Instructor & Sociology/Criminology Research Practicum Coordinator
[photo not available]
 

Evaluation and Policy

Indigenous Justice

Policing

Research Practicum

Frank.Cormier@umanitoba.ca

204-474-6445

313 Isbister Building

Faculty Profile

 

Annette Desmarais, Associate Professor & Canada Research Chair in Human Rights, Social Justice and Food Sovereignty
[photo not available]
 

Food Sovereignty

Agrarian Change

International Development

Social Movements

Annette.Desmarais@umanitoba.ca

204-807-2659

302 Isbister Building

Faculty Profile

 

Jason Edgerton, Associate Professor
[photo not available]
 

Youth  Mental Health

Youth Substance and Behavioural Addictions

Education and Work

Social Determinants of Health

Quantitative Research Methods

J.Edgerton@umanitoba.ca

204-474-8192

323 Isbister Building

Faculty Profile

 

Mara Fridell, Assistant Professor
[photo not available]
 

Global Sociology

Political Sociology & Social Movements

Comparative Migration & Citizenship

Political Economy of Gender

fridellm@umanitoba.ca

204-474-8150

311 Isbister Building

Faculty Profile

 

Christopher J. Fries, Assistant Professor
[photo not available]
 

Social Determinants of Health

Healthy Lifestyles & Self Care Behaviour

Salutogenesis (the origins of health)

Medicalization

Sociology of the Body

Christopher.Fries@umanitoba.ca

204-474-7871

317 Isbister Building

Faculty Profile

 

  

Laura Funk, Associate Professor
[photo not available]
 

Aging and Social Determinants

Paid and Unpaid Care Work

Death and Dying

Qualitative and Interpretive Methods

www.laurafunk.ca

204-474-6678

307 Isbister Building

Faculty Profile

Twitter

 

Mark Hudson, Associate Professor & Global Political Economy Coordinator
[photo not available]
 

Environmental Sociology

Political Economy

Climate Change

Global Sociology

Social Networks

Mark.Hudson@umanitoba.ca

204-272-1655

308 Isbister Building

Faculty Profile

 

Karen Kampen, Instructor
[photo not available]
 

Research Methods

Social Statistics

Life Course

Karen.Kampen@umanitoba.ca

204-474-8903

308 Isbister Building

 

Mary-Anne Kandrack, Instructor
[photo not available]
 

Theory/Sociology of Knowledge

Feminist Analysis

Deviance and Medicalization

Mary-Anne.Kandrack@umanitoba.ca

204-474-9665

301-E Isbister Building

Faculty Profile

 

Rick Linden, Professor
[photo not available]
 

Criminology

Criminal Justice

Policing

Program Evaluation

Research Methods

Rick.Linden@umanitoba.ca

204-474-8457

339-B Isbister Building

Faculty Profile

 

Gregg Olsen, Professor
[photo not available]
 

Political Sociology

Welfare States

Comparative Sociology

Social Inequality

Gregg.Olsen@umanitoba.ca

204-474-9199

314 Isbister Building

 

Jeremy Patzer, Assistant Professor
[photo not available]
 

Indigenous Peoples and the Law

Aboriginal Law: Treaties, Rights & Title

Law and Historical Repair

Socio-Legal Studies, Sociology of Law

Contemporary Theory

Jeremy.Patzer@umanitoba.ca

204-480-1039

309 Isbister Building

 

Tracey Peter, Professor
[photo not available]
 
Applied Statistical Methods

Survey Design

Gender and Sexual Minority Youth

Mental Health

LGBTQ Inclusive Education

Tracey.Peter@umanitoba.ca

204-474-9416

306 Isbister Building

Faculty Profile

 

Susan Prentice, Professor
[photo not available]
 
Childcare, Family and Public Policy

Systemic Discrimination

Social Movements

Feminist Sociology

Qualitative Methods

Susan.Prentice@umanitoba.ca

204-474-6726

329 Isbister Building

Faculty Profile

 

Lance Roberts, Professor
[photo not available]
 
Education

Gambling

Ethnic Relations

Research Methods

Social Statistics

Lance.Roberts@umanitoba.ca

204-474-6941

321 Isbister Building

Faculty Profile

 

Russell Smandych, Professor
[photo not available]
 
Youth Justice System Reform

Global Criminology

Law and Indigenous Peoples

Legal History

Russell.Smandych@umanitoba.ca

204-474-6446

303 Isbister Building

Faculty Profile

 

Jane Ursel, Professor
[photo not available]
 
Domestic and Family Violence

Institutional Response to Violence

Evaluation Research

Qualitative Methods

Jane.Ursel@umanitoba.ca

204-474-8979

108 Isbister Building

Faculty Profile

 

Lori Wilkinson, Professor
[photo not available]
 
Migration Studies

Refugee Studies

Anti-Racism

Survey Methods

Qualitative Methods

Lori.Wilkinson@umanitoba.ca

204-474-8491

331 Isbister Building

Faculty Profile

 

Andrew Woolford, Professor
[photo not available]
 
Genocide Studies

Socio-Legal Studies

Restorative Justice & Conflict Resolution

Criminological and Contemporary Theory

Andrew.Woolford@umanitoba.ca

204-474-6058

327 Isbister Building

Faculty Profile