The Shannon L. Hamm Memorial Scholarship
The Shannon L. Hamm Memorial Scholarship is an endowment fund established at The University of Manitoba in memory of Shannon L. Hamm (B.A. (Hons.)/85), by her husband Amir Hussain, and her family, friends and colleagues. At her death on July 7, 1992, Shannon was the Clinical Manager of the Centre for Behavioural Rehabilitation at Hamilton's Chedoke-McMaster Hospitals. Shannon had received her M.A. in psychology from the University of Toronto in 1986, and was also a teaching assistant in the Psychology Department, and a Senior Don at University College. Donations to the fund have been matched by The University of Manitoba and the Manitoba Scholarship and Bursary Initiative has made a contribution to the fund. The purpose of the fund is to provide scholarships for first year graduate students in psychology to study the experimental analysis of behaviour or behaviour modification at the University of Manitoba. Each year, the available annual interest from the fund will be used to offer one scholarship to a graduate student who:

  (1) has been newly admitted to the Faculty of Graduate Studies and is enrolled full-time in the first year of study in a Pre-Master’s or Master’s program delivered by the Department of Psychology;
  (2) has achieved a minimum grade point average of 3.5 (or equivalent) based on the previous 60 credit hours of study;
  (3) has expressed a clear interest in research in either behaviour analysis or behaviour modification.

Notice of this award will be sent by the Psychology Department to all new students upon acceptance into the Pre-Master’s or Master’s program. Students will be required to apply in writing to indicate their suitability for the award.

At the discretion of the selection committee, and based on the annual interest, the number and value of the award may be adjusted to offer more than one scholarship.

A student may hold this award only once. If there are no suitable candidates in a given year, the income from the fund will be reinvested in the capital fund.

The Vice-Provost (Graduate Education) and Dean of the Faculty of Graduate Studies (or designate) will ask the Head of the Psychology Department (or designate) to name the selection committee for this award. The selection committee will include staff members who are specialists in behaviour analysis / modification.

Past Award Recipients:

2018-2019: Karis Cochrane, Katharine Kalinowski
2018: Brittany Cook, Jessica Duris, Brennan Foidart, Daniel Foidart, Karli Rapinda
2017: Carly Cressman, Ryan Heckert, Maria Pongoski, Sophie Robitaille
2016: Amy Brown, Lauren Kaminski, Karli Pedreira & Jessica Summers
2015: Lisa Hunter & Morena Miljkovic
2014: Heather Yates
2013: Kara-Lynn Giesbrecht
2012: Ashley Boris & Christine Sousa
2011: Chelsey Michalyshyn
2009: Genevieve Roy-Wsiaki & Carly Thiessen, & Alejandra Zaragoza
2008: Lindsay Arnal & Sandra Salem
2007: Colleen Murphy
2006: Lisa Dreger
2005: Kristin Campbell & Gabriel Schnerch & Kerri Walters
2003: Crystal Springer
2002: Lisa Schwartzman
2001: Sara Spevak
1998: Lisa Wright
1997: Andrea Piotrowski
1996: Darlene Tod
1995: Tracey Sewell
1994: Adrienne Toogood