Faculty & Staff
Department Head:
Pinaki Bose 
502 Fletcher Argue Bldg.
Telephone: 204-474-9274
Pinaki.Bose@ad.umanitoba.ca
_______________________________________________________________________________________

Support Staff:

Betty McGregor - Administrative Assistant
504 Fletcher Argue Bldg.   
Office Hours: 8:30-4:30pm
Phone Numbers: 474-6240 or 474-9274
mailto:Betty_McGregor@umanitoba.ca

Judy Ings - Office Assistant
501 Fletcher Argue Bldg. General Office
Office Hours: 8:30-4:30pm
Phone Number: 474-6239
mailto:ingsjl@ms.umanitoba.ca  

Debby Fiorucci - Office Assistant
501 Fletcher Argue Bldg. General Office
Office Hours 8:30 - 4:30 pm
Phone Number: 474-9207
mailto:fioruci@cc.umanitoba.ca
 
______________________________________________________________________________________

Faculty:

Baragar, Fletcher D.
Associate Professor
506 Fletcher Argue Building
Ph:(204)474-9005
mailto:fletcher_baragar@umanitoba.ca 
Fields:  Marxian Eonomics, History of Economic Thought, Macroeconomics
_______________________________________________________________________________________
Brown, Laura K.
Associate Professor
549 Fletcher Argue Building
Ph:(204)474-9393
mailto:lbrown@cc.umanitoba.ca 
http://home.cc.umanitoba.ca/~lbrown 
Fields:  International Trade, Econometrics, Labour Economics
___________________________________________________________________________________________________
Cameron, Norman E.
Professor Emeritus
Ph:(170)538-71710
cameron@cc.umanitoba.ca
_________________________________________________________________________________________________
Chernomas, Robert J.
Professor
508 Fletcher Argue Building
Ph:(204)474-9510
mailto:chernoma@cc.umanitoba.ca
Fields:  Health Economics, Marxian Economics, Alternative Theory, History of Economic Thought
__________________________________________________________________________________________________
Chuchman, George
Associate Professor
509 Fletcher Argue Building
Ph:(204)474-9364 
George.Chuchman@ad.umanitoba.ca 
Fields:  Energy Economics, Public finance, Monetary Economics, Applied Microeconomics
__________________________________________________________________________________________________
Compton, Janice
Assistant Professor
515 Fletcher Argue Building
Ph:(204)474-8471
mailto:comptonj@cc.umanitoba.ca
http://home.cc.umanitoba.ca/~comptonj/
Fields:  Labour Economics
__________________________________________________________________________________________________
Compton, Ryan
Assistant Professor
556 Fletcher Argue Building
Ph:(204)474-9520
mailto:compton@cc.umanitoba.ca
http://home.cc.umanitoba.ca/~compton
 Fields:  Time-series Econometrics, Finance, Growth, Development, Institutions
_________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Dean, James M.
Professor
515 University Centre
Ph:(204)474-6835
mailto:james_dean@umanitoba.ca
Fields:  Public Finance and Taxation, Property Taxes
__________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Dennis, Kenneth G.
Senior Scholar
501 Fletcher Argue Building
Ph:(204)474-9207
kdennis@cc.umanitoba.ca
______________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Dhruvarajan, Periyapatna S.
Associate Professor
552 Fletcher Argue Building
Ph:(204)474-8208
dhruva@cc.umanitoba.ca
http://home.cc.umanitoba.ca/~dhruva/
Fields:  Econometrics, Wage Differentials, Transportation and Regional Economics, Rural Deveopment
___________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Gray, John
Senior Scholar
501 Fletcher Argue Building
Ph:(204)474-9207
john_gray@umanitoba.ca
http://home.cc.umanitoba.ca/~gray
_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Günay, Hikmet
Associate Professor
511 Fletcher Argue Building
Ph:(204)474-8915
mailto:gunay@cc.umanitoba.ca
http://home.cc.umanitoba.ca/~gunay
Fields:  Industrial Organization, Economic Theory, Microeconomics, Financial Economics
_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Hudson, Ian
Associate Professor
546 Fletcher Argue Building
Ph:(204)474-9676
mailto:hudsoni@ms.umanitoba.ca
Fields:  Industrial Organization, Economic Theory, Microeconomics, Financial Economics
_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Hum, Derek
Professor
224 St. John's College
Ph:(204)474-8103
dhum@cc.umanitoba.ca
http://home.cc.umanitoba.ca/~dhum
Fields:  Ethical consumption, sustainable development, political economy
______________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Jiang, Janet H.
Assistant Professor
517 Fletcher Argue Building
Ph:(204)474-9275
janet_jiang@umanitoba.ca
http://home.cc.umanitoba.ca/~jiang2
Fields:  Monetary and Macroeconomics, Money and banking, Experimental economcs, Learning
____________________________________________________________________________________
Kim, Yunmi
Assistant Professor
514 Fletcher Argue Bldg.
Ph:(204)474-6256
kimy@cc.umanitoba.ca
http://home.cc.umanitoba.ca/~kimy/ 
Fields:  Time Series, Econometrics, Applied Macroeconmics
_____________________________________________________________________________________
Lipnowski, Irwin F.
Associate Professor
503 Fletcher Argue Building
Ph:(204)474-9192
lipnows@cc.umanitoba.ca
Fields:  Industrial Organization, Compeition Policy, Public Utility Regulation
____________________________________________________________________________________________
Lobdell, Richard A.
Professor
116 St. Paul's College
Ph:(204)474-7089
richard_lobdell@umanitoba.ca
___________________________________________________________________________________________
Loxley, John
Professor
505 Fletcher Argue Building
Ph:(204)474-9769
loxley@cc.umanitoba.ca
Fields:  Economic Development, International Finance, Community Economic Development
_____________________________________________________________________________________
Mason, Gregory C.
Associate Professor
557 Fletcher Argue Building
Ph:(204)474-8674
gmason@pra.ca
http://www.pra.ca/Mason/index.html 
Fields:  Program Evaluation, Income Support Policy and Applied Micro-economics
________________________________________________________________________________________________
Oguzoglu, Umut
Assistant Professor
647 Fletcher Argue Building
Ph:(204)480-1076
oguzoglu@cc.umanitoba.ca
http://home.cc.umanitoba.ca/~oguzoglu
Fields:  Panel Data Models, Labour Economics and Health Economics
_________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Rempel, Henry
Senior Scholar
557 Fletcher Argue Building
Ph:(204)474-8670
hgrempel@mts.net
____________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Sepehri-Borojeni, Ardeshir
Professor
548 Fletcher Argue Building
Ph:(204)474-6241
sepehri@cc.umanitoba.ca
Fields:  Economics of Health and Developing Countries, Post-Keynesian Macroeconmics
____________________________________________________________________________________________________
Serieux, John
Assistant Professor
512 Fletcher Argue Building
Ph:(204)474-9493
serieux@cc.umanitoba.ca
Fields:  Development Economics, International Finance and Political Economy
______________________________________________________________________________________________________
Simpson, Wayne D.
Professor
518 Fletcher Argue Building
Ph:(204)474-6174
simpson@ms.umanitoba.ca
http://www.umanitoba.ca/faculties/arts/economics/simpson
Fields:  Labour Economic, Applied Econometric Social Policy, Applied Microeconomics
______________________________________________________________________________________________________
Smith, Justin
Assistant Professor
648 Fletcher Argue
Ph:(204)474-6291
smith44@cc.umanitoba.ca
http://home.cc.umanitoba.ca/~smith44
Fields:  Economics of Education, Labour Economics, Applied Econometrics
_________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Troutt, Elizabeth S.
Associate Professor
550 Fletcher Argue Building
Ph:(204)474-6325
elizabeth_troutt@umanitoba.ca
Fields:  Natural Resource, Sustainable Development, Environmental Economics
______________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Vorst, Jesajah I.
Senior Scholar 
381 University College
Ph:(204)474-7129
vorst2@ms.umanitoba.ca
______________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Waterman, Anthony M. C.
Professor Emeritus
243 St. Johns College
Ph:(204)474-8515
watermn@cc.umanitoba.ca
____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Witt, Julia
Assistant Professor
554 Fletcher Argue
Ph:(204)474-9764
witt@cc.umanitoba.ca
Fields:  Health Economics, Applied Microeconomics _______________________________________________________________________________________________________
Sessional Instructors:

Syeed Khan - Instructor
umkhan6@cc.umanitoba.ca
551 Fletcher Argue Building
474-9890

MD Abdullah - Instructor 
mabdullah500@gmail.com
551 Fletcher Argue Building
474-9890

Ahmed Tazmeen - Instructor 
umtazmee@cc.umanitoba.ca 
612  Fletcher Argue Building

Fariba Solati - Instructor 
umsolati@cc.umanitoba.ca 
617 Fletcher Argue Building
474-8074

Harminder Guliani - Instructor 
guliani@cc.umanitoba.ca
553 Fletcher Argue Building

Joan Lupupa - Instructor
umlupupa@cc.umanitoba.ca
513 Fletcher Argue Building

Jun Zhao - Instructor
jane1964us2002@yahoo.com
555 Fletcher Argue Building

Di Xiang - Instructor 
gracexiang@hotmail.com
553 Fletcher Argue Building

Murshed Chowdhury - Instructor
murshedchy@yahoo.com
510 Fletcher Argue Building

Rosa Sanchez - Instructor
atinoo@mail.com
617 Fletcher Argue Building
474-8074

__________________________________________________________________________________________
Adjunct Professors:

 

Micheal Benarrock
Adjunct Professor
Univerity of Winnipeg

Jerry Buckland
Adjunct Professor
Menno Simons College (affiliated with University of Winnipeg)

Xiao Yuan Dong
Adjunct Professor
University of Winnipeg

Lindsay Tedds
Adjunct Professor
University of Victoria

Course Outlines

Job Opportunities

Selected Resources for

Economics

Departmental Seminars