Anthropology Faculty

 

Faculty | Sessional Instructors | Professors Emeriti | Senior Scholars

 

Derek Johnson
Professor , Department Head
Phone 204-474-8999
Email:  derek.johnson@umanitoba.ca
433 Fletcher Argue Building
Website
Website

PhD Guelph, 2002. Sociocultural anthropology, political ecology and political economy, fisheries and coastal governance, international development, social wellbeing; Gujarat, India

 

 

Fabiana Li
Associate Professor, Associate Department Head
Undergraduate Program Chair
Phone: 204-474-8736
Email:  fabiana.li@umanitoba.ca
439 Fletcher Argue Building
Website

PhD, University of California, Davis, 2009.  Environmental politics, conflicts over resources, transnational mining, social movements, globalization, food studies; Latin America.

 

 

Kent D. Fowler
Associate Professor, Graduate Program Chair
Phone: 204.272.1504
Email: kent.fowler@umanitoba.ca
Office: 246 St. John's CollegeWebsite

PhD. Alberta, 2002. Archaeology, ethnoarchaeology, ceramic technology, mortuary practices, food producing societies; Africa, Europe, Canada

 

 

Kathleen Buddle
Associate Professor
Phone: 204.474.6525
Email: kathleen.buddle@umanitoba.ca
448 Fletcher Argue Building

Ph.D. McMaster, 2002.  Sociocultural anthropology, anthropology of the media, technology and cultural mediation, contemporary culture theory, indigenous socio-political movements, oral history research, urban subcultural ethnography, Aboriginal communications history, North America.

 

 

Stacie D. A. Burke
Associate Professor
Phone 204.474.6629
Email: stacie.burke@umanitoba.ca
437 Fletcher Argue Building

Ph.D. Toronto 1999. Medical anthropology, biomedicine, endemic and epidemic infectious diseases, tuberculosis, infant and childhood health, anthropological demography, colonialism, Canada and Europe.

 

 

Anna Fournier
Associate Professor
Phone: 204.474.7649
Email: anna.fournier@umanitoba.ca
436 Fletcher Argue Building

Ph.D. Johns Hopkins University 2007. Political anthropology, human rights, youth social mobility and intergenerational conflict, social movements, collective violence and crime, educational practice, Eastern Europe, Latin America

 

Julia Gamble
Assistant Professor
Phone:204.474.6328
Email: Julia.gamble@umanitoba.ca
438 Fletcher Argue

PhD Manitoba, 2015. Biological anthropology, bioarchaeology, dental anthropology, life history, developmental origins of health and disease, medieval archaeology; Northern Europe, Central Europe, Baffin Island

 

 

 

 

Haskel J. Greenfield
Distinguished Professor
Phone: 204.272.1591
Email: haskel.greenfield@umanitoba.ca
447 Fletcher Argue Building
Website

Ph.D. CUNY, 1985. Archaeology, Faunal Analysis, Animal Domestication, Pastoralism, Early Farming and Complex Societies, Origins of Metallurgy, Cultural Ecology, Butchering Technology, Surface-Subsurface Reconnaissance Techniques, Spatial Analysis, Ethnicity; Neolithic-Bronze Age Europe, Near East, Africa.

 

 

 

 

Robert Hoppa
Professor, Associate Dean (Research) Faculty of Arts
Phone: 204.474.6329
Email: robert.hoppa@umanitoba.ca
315 Fletcher Argue Building
Website

PhD. McMaster, 1996.  Osteology; Bioarchaeology; Skeletal Growth & Development; Medieval Denmark; 3D Imaging in Bioarchaeology; Palaeodemography; Age estimation from the Skeleton.
Bioanthropology Digital Image Analysis Laboratory (BDIAL)

 

 

 

Ellen R. Judd
Distinguished Professor
Phone: 204.474.7674
Email: ellen.judd@umanitoba.ca
445 Fletcher Argue Building
Website

Ph.D. U British Columbia, 1981, FRSC. Political anthropology, practice theory, critical theory, gender, women's studies, political economy, social policy, societies in transition, development, community economic development, human rights, conflict and conflict resolution and cultural studies; China.

 

 

David H. Pentland

Professor (- Joint appointment, Linguistics and Anthropology)
Email: David_Pentland@umanitoba.ca

Phone: 204-474-9187
Website

BA Manitoba; MA, Ph.D. Toronto. Historical and comparative linguistics, dialectology, philological methods, language and culture, prehistory; Algonquian, Indoeuropean, Métchif

 

 

Lara Rosenoff Gauvin
Assistant Professor
Email: Lara.RosenoffGauvin@umanitoba.ca
446 Fletcher Argue Building

PhD. University of British Columbia, 2016. Armed Conflict, Indigenous Knowledge, Social Repair, Transitional Justice, Land Tenure, Kinship, Museum Studies, Multimodal Methodologies, Uganda, East Africa.

 


 

  SESSIONAL INSTRUCTORS
     

Benjamin Collins
Phone: 204-474-6467
Email:  Benjamin.Collins@umanitoba.ca
Website: http://umanitoba.academia.edu/BenCollins
253 St. John's College

PhD. McGill, 2014.  Hunter-Gatherers; Social Networks; southern Africa; Stone Age

 

Rumel Halder
Phone: 204-474-9830
Email: Rumel.Halder@umanitoba.ca
448 University College

 

Sara Halwas
Email: Sara.Halwas@umanitoba.ca
435 Fletcher Argue

PhD. Manitoba, 2017.  Palaeoethnobotany, Pre-contact archaeology, Canadian Plains, Northeastern Plains, West – central Canada, Food procurement and Production strategies, Cultivation, Process of Domestication, Practice Theory, Organism-in-Environment

 

Barbara R. Hewitt
Email: Barbara.Hewitt@umanitoba.ca

Ph.D. Western University, 2013.  Biological anthropology, Bioarchaeology, Forensic Anthropology, Biogeochemistry, Human Mobility, Stable Isotopes, Peru, South America

  Sölmundur Pálsson
Email: SolmunderKarl.Palsson@umanitoba.ca


 

 

 PROFESSORS EMERITI

Greg Monks
Professor
Email: Gregory.Monks@umr.umanitoba.ca

Ph.D. British Columbia, 1977. Archaeological method and theory, subsistence, seasonality, hunters and gatherers, fur trade; Northwest coast, western Canada

   Emőke Szathmáry
Professor
Phone: 204.474.7479
Email: Emoke.Szathmary@umanitoba.ca
112 St Paul's College

Ph.D. Toronto, 1974, FRSC.  Physical anthropology, human population genetics, genetic epidemiology; northern North America, Siberia.

Graduate Fellowship in Biological Anthropology

  Raymond E. Wiest
Professor

Ph.D. U Oregon, 1970.  Social organization, political economy, domestic groups, gender roles, migration, rural development; Mexico, Bangladesh.
Website

 


 

SENIOR SCHOLARS 
Jean-Luc Chodkiewicz
Ph.D. Columbia, 1972. Associate Professor. Social organization, ecology, economic anthropology; Latin America, Melanesia.
Email: Jean-Luc.Chodkiewicz@umanitoba.ca

William W. Koolage
Ph.D. U N Carolina, 1970. Associate Professor. Cultural anthropology, medical anthropology; northern North America.
Arctic Blue Books
Email: William.Koolage@umanitoba.ca

Brian E. Schwimmer 
Ph.D. Stanford, 1976. Social and economic anthropology, complex societies, history of theory; Africa.
Email: Brian.Schwimmer@umanitoba.ca
Website
Thomas Shay
Ph.D. U Minnesota, 1970. Archaeology, paleobotany; North America, Europe.
David Stymeist
Ph.D. Toronto, 1976. Social anhropology, medical anthropology, community studies, North America.
Email: stymeist@cc.umanitoba.ca
Emőke Szathmáry
Ph.D. Toronto, 1974, FRSC. Professor Emeritus. Physical anthropology, human population genetics, genetic epidemiology; northern North America, Siberia.
Graduate Fellowship in Biological Anthropology