Pinky Prize
 Terms of Reference

The family of Professor Emeritus John W. Graham offers an annual prize of $2,500 in honour of his memory and his inspired and dedicated contribution to the education of students enrolled in the School of and later, the Faculty of Architecture. Professor Graham, who was affectionately referred to as “Pinky”, was a primary force in the pedagogy of Design from the early days of the Faculty of Architecture, continuing until his retirement in 1980.

Professor Graham introduced the “Theory of Design” plates, which he had obtained from the Museum of Modern Art in New York, to his Theory of Design lectures and to the Design Studio curriculum. The plates were a series of twenty-four poster-style lithographs, each of which effectively illustrated a particular element of design using photographs and minimal text. The “Pinky Plates,” as they came to be known within the Faculty, were central tools in teaching the language of design to thousands of students in the Basic Design program in the Faculty.

The Pinky Prize was established in 2007, by Mrs. Trudi Graham to recognize the re - introduction of Pinky Plates into the curriculum between 2006 and 2008.

The Pinky Prize will be awarded to the undergraduate student who:

•  has achieved the highest standing for the complete set of twenty-four Pinky Plates produced during Studios One and Two during the term

•  has completed the second year of full-time study in the Environmental Design program in the Faculty of Architecture at the University of Manitoba (Studios One and Two)

•  has shown the greatest advancement in the learning process based on course work completed in Design Studio 1 and Design Studio 2 in the year in which the award is tenable. This award is to recognize growth and development and is not simply to be based on marks alone

No Application Required

Don't forget to Thank your Donor.


Past Recipients

2015 - 2016 Robyn Fossay
2014 - 2015 Not Offered
2013 - 2014 Wei Zou
2012 - 2013 Sarah Stasiuk
2011 - 2012 Mallory Enns
2010 - 2011 Christopher Burke
2009 - 2010 Samantha Quiogue
2008 - 2009 Michael Seymour