Maxwell Starkman Scholarship in Architecture
Terms of Reference

Through a gift from Mr. Maxwell Starkman to The University of Manitoba, a scholarship fund has been established to provide a student from any of the graduate programs within the Faculty of Architecture with the freedom to explore contemporary design issues in a world context, anywhere in the world. This prestigious award will enable its recipients to gain experience and knowledge through scholarly research which may lead to a written paper worthy of consideration for publication in a juried journal. The Manitoba Scholarship and Bursary Initiative has made a contribution to this fund.

Mr. Maxwell Starkman began his University studies after World War II. During the war, he served with the Royal Canadian Engineers and was headquartered in Trafalgar Square in London. He later saw action in the D-Day Invasion, Belgium, Holland, and Germany where he served in the occupying army until 1946. After his service in the Canadian Military, Mr. Starkman enrolled in Architecture at The University of Manitoba and graduated as the gold medallist in 1950.

In 1950, Mr. Starkman and his wife, Gloria, moved to Los Angeles where he began work with the renowned architect Richard J. Neutra. In 1953, Mr. Starkman left the firm with Fritz Reichl to form their own firm, Reichl & Starkman, Architects. After Mr. Reichl’s death in 1959, the firm became known as Maxwell Starkman A.I.A. and Associates. At the time of his retirement in 1987, Mr. Starkman’s firm had grown to over 180 employees with projects throughout the United States, Hong Kong and China. The firm, which began designing homes for veterans returning from the war, had grown to include high-rise commercial and residential projects, hotels and super regional shopping malls. The firm received many design awards and was known for its superior designs which were both functional and economical. Active in civic and charitable work, Mr. Starkman is a past recipient of the Humanitarian Award from the National Conference of Christians & Jews.

The available annual income from the fund will support an annual scholarship which will be offered to a graduate student who:

•  is enrolled full-time in the Faculty of Graduate Studies in any program offered through the Faculty of Architecture

• has achieved a minimum grade point average of 3.5 based on the previous 60 credit hours (or equivalent) of study

•  has demonstrated a high level of writing skills and an ability to show the importance of the proposed research topic, as presented in the scholarship application

This award is primarily intended for travel purposes, to inform future scholarship and research with novel perspectives gained in the course of travel. It is further meant to provide ‘the freedom to explore contemporary design’, and should show application in a Canadian context, especially in areas with the current mission and goals of the Faculty of Architecture.

In order to compete for this scholarship, eligible students will be required to submit a written proposal of no less than 1,000 words, together with a proposed budget and a draft abstract for a publication-worthy paper. The proposal must state the theme and scope of the proposed inquiry, a time-line of how the study will proceed, and it must include two letters of reference (one an academic reference and the second a character reference from someone other than a family member).

This scholarship will provide support for, among other things, the travel and accommodation expenses involved in the research which the recipient proposes to undertake. Travel must commence within 10 months of receipt of the award. Travel and publication must be completed prior to graduation.

*The value of the award may be divided between mutiple applicants.

Download Application Form

Application Deadline: January 13, 2020 4:00 pm

Applications should be submitted to:

Corrine Klekta
Room 212, John A. Russell Building


Don't forget to Thank your Donor.





Past Recipients

2018 - 2019  Emily Halldorson
                     Jessica Piper
                     Katie Godfrey
2017 - 2018 Michael Wakely
                    Janelle Harper
                    Courtney Thompson
2016 - 2017 Adam Fiss
                    Bryan He (Jun Long)
                    Erin Riediger
2015 - 2016 Steven Holdack
                    Adele Sinclair
2014 - 2015 Kailey Kroeker
2013 - 2014 Adam Kroeker &
                    Mary Jane Kroeker
2012 - 2013 Jeana Klassen
2011 - 2012 Joyce Rautenberg
2010 - 2011 Jordy Craddock
2009 - 2010 Jeff Pratte & Shannon Wiebe
2008 - 2009 Lauren Lange, Vicky Reaney,
                    Cameron Bradshaw