Fridrik Kristjansson Scholarship in Architecture
Terms of Reference

From the estate of Mr. Adalsteinn Kristjansson, an endowment fund has been established for an annual scholarship in the Faculty of Architecture at The University of Manitoba. The award honours Fridrik Kristjansson, who was Mr. Adalsteinn Kristjansson’s brother and who was in the home construction business in Winnipeg.

The scholarship is intended to provide travel or research assistance to full-time graduate students who:

•  have completed the first year of the graduate degree program in the Faculty of Architecture, in one of the Departments of Architecture, City Planning, Interior Design or Landscape Architecture

•  eligible students must have achieved a minimum cumulative grade point average of 3.5

•  preference shall be given to students whose programs of study focus on universal design and special needs in planning and design of housing

A letter of application including a maximum 1500 word proposal outlining the proposed travel or research to be undertaken is required.

One award will be given each year and is non-renewable.

*The value of the award may be divided between multiple applicants.

Download Application Form

Application Deadline: January 13, 2020 4:00 pm

Applications should be submitted to:

Corrine Klekta
Room 212, John A. Russell Building


Don't forget to Thank your Donor.





Past Recipients

2018 - 2019 Chuqi Zhong
2017 - 2018 Andrew Budyk
2016 - 2017 Wei Xue
2015 - 2016 Zoé Lebel
2014 - 2015 Maria Thom
2013 - 2014 Mary Jane Kroeker
2012 - 2013 Clifford Goodwill
2011 - 2012 Onilee Zaborniak
2010 - 2011 Christina Maes
2009 - 2010 Christine Plett
2008 - 2009 Vanessa Ilg