Dean David Witty Urban Design Scholarship
Terms of Reference

David Witty, PhD, MRAIC, FCIP, Dean of the Faculty of Architecture (2001-2009), through a personal donation and with funds received while he was Dean, for his design charrette outreach community work, has established an endowment fund at the University of Manitoba. The fund will be used to offer the Dean David Witty Urban Design Scholarship in the Department of City Planning, Faculty of Architecture. The scholarship will be awarded to a City Planning student who is completing a thesis/practicum/comprehensive urban design topic.

The available annual income from the fund will be used to offer one scholarship, with a minimum value of $1,500, to a graduate student who:

•  is enrolled full-time in the Faculty of Graduate Studies, in the second year of the Master of City Planning

•  has achieved a minimum degree grade point average of 3.5 on course work completed at the Master’s level

•  has received approval on a thesis/practicum/comprehensive topic that focuses on a City of Winnipeg urban design issue(s)

•  includes an application letter (max. 750 words) that outlines thesis topic and description of research in relation to urban design issues in the city of Winnipeg

Preference will be given to a student who is Aboriginal and/or a single parent.

*The value of the award may be divided between multiple applicants.

Download Application Form

Application Deadline: December 2, 2019 4:00 pm

Applications should be submitted to:

Corrine Klekta
Room 212, John A. Russell Building


Don't forget to Thank your Donor.





Past Recipients

2018 - 2019 Anton Metalnikov
2017 - 2018 Evan Sinclair
2016 - 2017 Matthew Robinson
2015 - 2016 Andrew Macaulay
2014 - 2015 Ryan Segal
2013 - 2014 Jeana Klassen
                    Keke Wang
2012 - 2013 Dylan Harris
2011 - 2012 Caitlin Kotak
2010 - 2011 Scott McCullough