CISC Graduate Fellowship in Architecture
Terms of Reference

The Canadian Institute of Steel Construction (CISC) will make an annual contribution of $1,000 per year, for a five year term, to offer the Canadian Institute of Steel Construction Graduate Fellowship in Architecture. The purpose of the fellowship is to recognize the outstanding academic achievement of graduate students pursuing studies in the Faculty of Architecture at the University of Manitoba. Each year, beginning in 2015-2016 and ending in 2019-2020, one fellowship of $1,000 will be offered to a graduate student who:

(1) is enrolled full-time in the Faculty of Graduate Studies in the Master of Architecture program delivered by the Faculty of Architecture at the University of Manitoba;

(2) has achieved a minimum grade point average of 3.5 based on the previous 60 credit hours (or equivalent) of study.

Preference will be given to a student member of the CISC.
The Vice-Provost (Graduate Education) and Dean of the Faculty of Graduate Studies (or designate) will ask the Dean of the Faculty of Architecture (or designate) to name the selection committee for this award.
The Board of Governors of the University of Manitoba has the right to modify the terms of this award if, because of changed conditions, it becomes necessary to do so. Such modification shall conform as closely as possible to the expressed intention of the donor in establishing the award.

Established: Board of Governors, August 25, 2015

Biographical Information:
Founded in 1930, the CISC operates as a technical, marketing and government relations organization representing the Canadian Steel Industry. The CISC promotes the use and benefits of steel in construction, adds value to the construction and design community, and supports the needs of the membership and industry through education and training, research and development, industry codes and standards, and certification and advocacy.

Award previously called Steel Structures Education Foundation Scholarships



Past Recipients

2019 - 2020 Odudu Umoessien
2018 - 2019 Matthew Rajfur
2017 - 2018 Abel Omeiza
2016 - 2017 Steven Hung
2015 - 2016 Landon Lucyk