Ted McLachlan Community Engagement Scholarship
Terms of Reference

In honour of Professor Ted McLachlan’s long-standing commitment to community engagement through his teaching, research and service in the field of Landscape Architecture, his colleagues, friends, graduates and students have established an endowment fund at the University of Manitoba. The Manitoba Scholarship and Bursary Initiative has made a contribution to the fund. The purpose of the fund is to reward graduate students who are committed to voluntarism and community engagement while pursuing studies in the Master of Landscape Architecture in the Faculty of Architecture. The scholarship will be offered to a graduate student who:

(1) is enrolled full-time or part-time in the Faculty of Graduate Studies, in the Master of Landscape Architecture program at the Faculty of Architecture at the University of Manitoba;

(2) has achieved a minimum grade point average of 3.3 based on the previous 60 credit hours (or equivalent) of study;

(3) has, in the opinion of the selection committee, demonstrated a strong commitment to voluntarism and community engagement.

Candidates must submit a brief CV outlining their volunteer and community engagement activities.

The Vice-Provost (Graduate Education) and Dean of the Faculty of Graduate Studies (or designate) will ask the Head of the Department of Landscape Architecture to name and chair the selection committee for this award. The selection committee will include one faculty member from the Department of Landscape Architecture who is nominated by their peers for their commitment to community engagement, one graduate student nominated by the Landscape Architecture Students Association, and will also include Ted McLachlan (or his family designate). At least two members of the selection committee must be current University of Manitoba employees.

The Board of Governors of the University of Manitoba has the right to modify the terms of this award if, because of changed conditions, it becomes necessary to do so. Such modification shall conform as closely as possible to the expressed intention of the donor establishing the award.

Download Application Form

Application Deadline: September 25, 2020 4:00 pm

Until further notice, awards applications will only be accepted via email.
Please submit your application to Corrine.Klekta@umanitoba.ca


Don't forget to Thank your Donor.



Past Recipients

2019 - 2020 Vincent Rara
2018 - 2019 Krista Renwick
2017 - 2018 Janelle Harper
2016 - 2017 Emily Sinclair