Couture Indigenous Achievement Scholarship
Terms of Reference

Ms. Christabelle O. Couture [B.Comm.(Hons.)/1983] and Mr. Gerald H. Couture [B.E.S./1981, M.C.P./1986] have established an endowment fund at the University of Manitoba with an initial gift of $10,000 in 2015, and a commitment to a total gift of $50,000 by 2019. The purpose of the fund is to recognize outstanding academic achievement by Indigenous undergraduate students in the I.H. Asper School of Business and the Faculty of Architecture. Each year, the scholarship will rotate between the I.H. Asper School of Business and the Faculty of Architecture, beginning with the I.H. Asper School of Business in 2017-2018. Each year, the available annual income from the fund will be used to offer one scholarship to an undergraduate student who:

(1) is Indigenous (Status, Non-Status, Metis, Inuit);
(2) is enrolled full-time (minimum 80% course load) in the applicable faculty in either:
     (i) the Bachelor of Commerce (Honours) program, or
     (ii) the Bachelor of Environmental Design program;
(3) has completed a minimum of 50 credit hours of study in the respective program;
(4) has achieved a minimum degree grade point average of 3.0;
(5) has demonstrated community involvement with an emphasis on the Indigenous community.

Candidates will be required to submit an application that includes: a statement (maximum 500 words) describing their community involvement and one letter of reference regarding their community involvement.

The Director of the Aboriginal Business Education Partners (ABEP) program (or designate) from the I.H. Asper School of Business, or the Dean of the Faculty of Architecture (or designate), will name the selection committee for this award in the applicable years.

The Board of Governors of the University of Manitoba has the right to modify the terms of this award if, because of changed conditions, it becomes necessary to do so. Such modification shall conform as closely as possible to the expressed intention of the donor in establishing the award.

*The value of the award may be divided between multiple applicants

Not available in 2019-2020




Past Recipients

2019 - 2020 I.H. Asper School of Business
2018 - 2019 Courtney Champagne