Academic Staff
Faculty Member Teaching Areas Research Interests
Dr. Michel Aliani
(204) 474-8070
michel.aliani@umanitoba.ca
Metabolomics; Flavour Chemistry and sensory evaluation of functional foods Nutritional Metabolomics; Mass Spectrometry and NMR Techniques (HPLC, GC-MS, LC-QTOF-MS; LC-NMR)
Dr. Rotimi Aluko
(204) 474-9555
rotimi.aluko@umanitoba.ca
Food Chemistry Chemistry of food Proteins; Bioactive peptides in health and disease prevention; Functional foods and nutraceuticals
Dr. Harold Aukema
(204) 474-8076
harold.aukema@umanitoba.ca
Nutrition; lipids Nutritional Science; early dietary interventions in disease; renal cell culture; diet and intracellular signaling; supplements and renal disease
Dr. Trust Beta
(204) 474-8214
trust.beta@umanitoba.ca
  Antioxidants in foods and human health; plant polyphenols; carbohydrate chemistry

Dr. Snehil Dua
(204) 474-6505
snehil.dua@umanitoba.ca

Dr. Peter Eck
(204) 272-1506
peter.eck@umanitoba.ca
Molecular Nutrition, Genetics, Genomics, Scientific Work Molecular Nutrition
Dr. Michael Eskin
(204) 474-8078
michael.eskin@umanitoba.ca
Basic foods; food chemistry Effect of processing on food quality
Dr. Jim House
(204) 474-6837
james.house@umanitoba.ca

Department Head
Nutritional Biochemistry Protein metabolism; Role of macronutrients in homocysteine metabolism
Dr. Peter Jones
(204) 474-8883
peter.jones@umanitoba.ca
  Cholesterol, fat and energy metabolism
Dr. Filiz Koksel
(204) 474-6486
filiz.koksel@umanitoba.ca
  Controlling and manipulating process parameters in order to produce high quality foods that safe, nutritious and palatable.
Dr. Christina Lengyel
(204) 474-9554
christina.lengyel@umanitoba.ca
Management for nutrition professionals; Nutrition and older adults Determinants of food intake in long-term care; Body image and baby boomer women; Nutrition in end of life care; Nutritional risk of older men
Dr. Mohammed Moghadasian
(204) 235-3934
mmoghadasian@sbrc.ca
Lipoprotein Diet, lipoprotein metabolism and coronary artery disease
Dr. Semone Myrie
(204) 474-7290
semone.myrie@umanitoba.ca
Nutrition and Foods, Sports Nutrition Nutrition and Developmental origins of adult diseases, Nutrition and Inherited metabolic diseases
Dr. Claudia Narvaez
(204) 474-6658
Claudia.narvaezbravo@umanitoba.ca
 Food Microbiology; Food Safety and Quality; Food Product Development The development of suitable pre-harvest and post-harvest interventions to reduce the presence of pathogenic organisms in the food continuum.
Dr. Argenis Rodas-González
(204) 474-9523
argenis.rodasgonzalez@umanitoba.ca
Meat science and food safety Meat colour and palatability attributes; carcass grading and meat quality; shelf life and safety of meat products; consumer evaluation of meat products
Dr. Harry Sapirstein
(204) 474-6481
harry.sapirstein@umanitoba.ca     
  Grain chemistry and processing; wheat quality for breadmaking, structure and composition of gluten proteins; bran composition and antioxidants; digital imaging of grain and baked good products
Dr. Martin Scanlon
(204) 474-6082
martin.scanlon@umanitoba.ca
  Food processing: physical and structural changes in plant materials during processing; size reduction operations
Dr. Joyce Slater
(204) 474-7322
joyce.slater@umanitoba.ca
Applied and community nutrition Food Literacy
Food and nutrition security
Nutrition surveillance
Public health nutrition
Dr. Miyoung Suh
(204) 474-8651
miyoung.suh@umanitoba.ca
Clinical Nutrition Nutrition and visual function; Nutrition, alcohol and reproductive function
Dr. Carla Taylor
(204) 258-1361
carla.taylor@umanitoba.ca
Macronutrients; Nutrition and Disease Nutrition and Immune Function; Dietary Fats and Diabetes
Dr. Usha Thiyam-Holländer
(204) 474-9976
usha.thiyam@umanitoba.ca
Functional Foods Process technology and optimization of plant proteins. Minor components and value addition of canola oils. Lipid oxidation, Functional Foods.