Office of Sustainability
The Office of Sustainability is:
  • A champion for sustainability efforts in university, regional, and national and global affairs through collaboration with students, faculty, staff, local community, and partners across higher education. 
  • An engagement hub for the University community, facilitating sustainability learning and practice and working as a catalyst for change by partnering to share knowledge, foster a culture of sustainability, integrate sustainability into practice and use the campus as a living laboratory for innovation. 
  • A planning and decision-making support, delivering sustainability reporting frameworks to track progress, promote improvement and ensure accountability and transparency.

Office of Sustainability Vision Statement:

The University of Manitoba achieves maximal contributions to human development through education, research, operations and by participating as a responsible member of the global community while continuously reducing its ecological footprint.


Leanne Shewchuk, Director Sustainability

Leanne Shewchuk
Tel: 204-474-7995


Melissa Gayle Smith
Administrative Coordinator
Tel: 204-474-6121

Jessie Klassen
Transportation Planner
Tel: 204- 474-8638

Tamara Thomson
Project Coordinator
Tel: 204-318-2918

Student Employees


Matthew Robinson
Sustainability Research Analyst
Tel: 204-318-2920
Area of Study: City Planning
Key Projects: Bannatyne Campus Sustainability Guide, Bike Kiosk, University Composting Program

Michael Hall
Student Research Analyst

Tel: 204-318-2920
Area of Study: MBA in Sustainability and Marketing
Key Projects: Transportation Initiatives