Office of Sustainability
What does the Office of Sustainability do?
  • A champion for sustainability efforts on campus
  • An engagement hub for the University community 
  • The coordinating body for tracking and reporting on progress towards the sustainability goals identified in the University of Manitoba Sustainability Strategy 2016-2018

Office of Sustainability Vision Statement:

  • Efficiently and effectively steward our human, natural and physical resources to meet future needs - planning for the seventh generation and beyond
  • Prevent waste, conserve and enhance our environment to provide opportunities for future generations to create, innovate and succeed
  • Ensure community participation in support of shared responsibility and understanding, reconciliation and collaboration
  • Acknowledge our global responsibility and promote equitable and integrated solutions to social, environmental and economic challenges

Staff

Leanne Shewchuk, Director Sustainability

Leanne Shewchuk
Director
Tel: 204-474-7995
E-mail: leanne.shewchuck@umanitoba.ca

Christie Nairn
Promotion and Outreach Coordinator
Tel: 204-318-2920
E-mail: christie.nairn@umanitoba.ca



Jessie Klassen
Transportation Planner
Tel: 204- 474-8368
E-mail: jessie.klassen@umanitoba.ca

Tamara Thomson
Project Coordinator
Tel: 204-318-2918
E-mail: tamara.thomson@umanitoba.ca
  

Lana Daman
Administrative Coordinator
Tel: 204-474-6121
E-mail: lana.daman@umanitoba.ca

Student Employees

.

Matthew Robinson
Sustainability Research Analyst
Tel: 204-318-2920
E-mail: matthew.robinson@umanitoba.ca
Area of Study: City Planning
Key Projects: Parking Lot Design Guidelines, Sustainable Transportation Strategy, Living Lab 

 

Sonikile Tembo
Sustainability Research Analyst
Tel: 204-318-2920
E-mail: sonikile.tembo@umanitoba.ca
Area of Study: City Planning
Key Project: Sustainable Transportation Strategy 



Jordan Bauer
Indigenous Land-Based Researcher
Tel: 204-318-2920
E-mail: jordan.bauer@umanitoba.ca
Area of Study: Engineering
Key Project: Indigenous Land Use Research


                     
Michael Hall
Sustainability Research Analyst
Tel: 204-318-2920
E-mail: michael.hall@umanitoba.ca
Area of Study: MBA in Sustainability and Marketing
Key Projects: Marketing and Communications, Living Lab

Kara Henrie
Sustainability Research Analyst
Tel: 204-318-2920
E-mail: kara.henrie@umanitoba.ca
Area of Study: Biosystems Engineering
Key Project: STARS Reporting