Office of Sustainability
What does the Office of Sustainability do?
  • A champion for sustainability efforts on campus
  • An engagement hub for the University community 
  • The coordinating body for tracking and reporting on progress towards the sustainability goals identified in the University of Manitoba Sustainability Strategy 2016-2018

Office of Sustainability Vision Statement:

  • Efficiently and effectively steward our human, natural and physical resources to meet future needs - planning for the seventh generation and beyond
  • Prevent waste, conserve and enhance our environment to provide opportunities for future generations to create, innovate and succeed
  • Ensure community participation in support of shared responsibility and understanding, reconciliation and collaboration
  • Acknowledge our global responsibility and promote equitable and integrated solutions to social, environmental and economic challenges

Staff

Leanne Shewchuk
Director
Tel: 204-474-7995
E-mail: leanne.shewchuk@umanitoba.ca

Bambilyn Goodale
Administrative Coordinator
Tel: 204-474-6121
E-mail: bambilyn.goodale@umanitoba.ca

Christie Nairn
Promotion and Outreach Coordinator
Tel: 204-318-2920
E-mail: christie.nairn@umanitoba.ca



Jessie Klassen
Transportation Planner
Tel: 204- 474-8368
E-mail: jessie.klassen@umanitoba.ca

Tamara Thomson
Project Coordinator
Tel: 204-318-2918
E-mail: tamara.thomson@umanitoba.ca

Josh Beauchemin
Green Building Analyst
Tel: 204-474-6121
E-mail: joshua.beauchemin@umanitoba.ca

 

Student Employees

.

Matthew Robinson
Sustainability Research Analyst
Tel: 204-318-2920
E-mail: matthew.robinson@umanitoba.ca
Area of Study: City Planning
Key Projects: Parking Lot Design Guidelines, Sustainable Transportation Strategy, Living Lab 

Michael Hall
Sustainability Research Analyst
Tel: 204-318-2920
E-mail: michael.hall@umanitoba.ca
Area of Study: MBA in Sustainability and Marketing
Key Projects: Marketing and Communications, Living Lab

Kara Henrie
Sustainability Research Analyst
Tel: 204-318-2920
E-mail: kara.henrie@umanitoba.ca
Area of Study: Biosystems Engineering
Key Project: STARS Reporting 



Jordan Bauer
Indigenous Land-Based Researcher
Tel: 204-318-2920
E-mail: jordan.bauer@umanitoba.ca
Area of Study: Engineering
Key Project: Indigenous Land Use Research

 

Abby Scaletta
Sustainability Research Analyst
Tel: 204-318-2920
E-mail: abby.scaletta@umanitoba.ca
Area of Study: Transportation Engineering
Key Project: Sustainable Transportation Strategy                

 

Kristine Dornn
Sustainability Research Analyst
Tel: 204-318-2920
E-mail: kristine.dornn@umanitoba.ca
Area of Study: Environmental Studies
Key Projects: Climate Change, Carbon Sink Research 

Karissa Noselski
Sustainability Research Analyst
Tel: 204-318-2920
E-mail: karissa.noselski@umanitoba.ca
Area of Study: Landscape Architecture
Key Projects: Sustainable Transportation - Pedestrian & Cycling Plan

Griffin Swanson
Sustainability Research Analyst
Tel: 204-318-2920
E-mail: griffin.swanson@umanitoba.ca
Area of Study: Biosystems Engineering
Key Projects: Waste Diversion - Re-Shop Research & Data Analysis