Annual Outreach Award Recipients

2005-2006 Recipients

Each year the University of Manitoba recognizes employees who have made exemplary contributions to the broader community.  The university congratulates the following recipients of the 2006 Outreach Awards:

Dr. Dilantha Fernando, Department of Plant Science, Faculty of Agricultural and Food Sciences, for his dedicated service to high school students as a mentor, and as an organizer and judge of high school science fairs.  Through his work with local producer, industry and government organizations, he is working to develop effective management strategies to control white mold in various crops. 

Dr. Richard Holley, Department of Food Science, Faculty of Agricultural and Food Sciences, for his extensive service as an industry liaison, public consultant and media contact, and for his involvement in extending the University commitment to broader education about food safety.  Dr. Holley is a regular commentator locally and nationally on issues such as food product quality and safety, food packaging, storage and handling, and pesticide residues.  He has also been a resource to local industry regarding food product quality and safety. 

Dr. Terry Janzen, Department of Linguistics, Faculty of Arts, for his significant contribution to outreach in the deaf community of Manitoba; and for his commitment to making post-secondary education more accessible to deaf people.  Through his sustained efforts, Dr. Janzen has raised the profile of the University in the deaf community and he has increased community members’ awareness of the possibility of university education.

Dr. Wanda Wuttunee, Department of Native Studies, Faculty of Arts, for her extensive engagement with the Aboriginal community.  Dr. Wuttunee serves on many boards and committees external to the University including the Assiniboine Credit Union, the Institute for Research on Public Policy and the Canadian Executive Service Organization, a not-for-profit community development organization.  Dr. Wuttunee served as a member of the Powley Implementation Committee which examined the implications in Manitoba of the Supreme Court decision on Métis hunting rights. 

Dr. Elizabeth Comack, Department of Sociology, Faculty of Arts, for her work in the community regarding women’s imprisonment in Manitoba.  Dr. Comack has focused particular attention on the circumstances of Aboriginal women who are incarcerated.  She has contributed her expertise to a number of legal cases involving Aboriginal women.

Professor Kristina Hunter, Department of Environment & Geography, Clayton H. Riddell Faculty of Environment, Earth, and Resources, for her involvement on various boards and committees whose mandate is to create a more ecologically sound society.    She is a founding member of the Manitoba Earth Day Committee, and she is a member of the Manitoba Roundtable on Sustainable Development.  At the University, she is a member of the “Think Green” group.

Dr. Merlin Shoesmith, Clayton H. Riddell Faculty of Environment, Earth, and Resources, for his engagement with industry, non-governmental organizations and numerous government departments and agencies on environmental matters.  His efforts have created networking opportunities on environmental matters for the students and the University.

Dr. Khalida Hai-Santiago, Centre for Community Oral Health, Faculty of Dentistry, for providing dental services to medically, physically, mentally and/or financially challenged individuals in Winnipeg. Dr. Hai-Santiago has provided dental care to frail elders residing in personal care homes, and to individuals living in the inner city through the dental program at the Health Action Centre.

Dr. James Dietrich, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Faculty of Engineering, for his efforts to promote the University in general and the field of engineering in particular among young people and the wider community.  Mr. Dietrich organized and coordinated the technical aspects of the opening of the Advanced RF Systems Laboratory, the second of four specialized test labs in Canada’s unique $23-million National Microelectronics and Photonics Testing Collaboratory. 

Dr. James Blatz, Department of Civil Engineering, Faculty of Engineering, for his dedication to promoting the Faculty of Engineering to the community at large. Dr. Blatz serves on numerous external committees including the Association of Professional Engineers and Geoscientists of Manitoba’s National Engineering Week.  He coordinates tours, outreach and speaking events that promote research in engineering.

Ms Maureen Rodrigue, Faculty of Physical Education and Recreation Studies, for her outstanding contributions focusing on persons with intellectual disability; for her continued leadership as a volunteer member of the Board and on committees at Versatech Industries and SCE LifeWorks, organizations that provide supported employment opportunities for persons with intellectual disabilities; for her prominent role in the “Manitoba in motion” initiative which seeks to improve awareness of issues associated with physical inactivity and promote active healthy lifestyles within our province.

Mr. Chris Rutkowski, Public Affairs, for his efforts to share his knowledge about astronomy, science and unidentified flying objects (UFOs) with the community at large. He is well known for his visits to Winnipeg high schools where he presents creative writing workshops, and where he mentors students interested in non-fiction writing.  He is a sought-after science and UFO media commentator whose excellent relationships with media have been of great benefit to the University of Manitoba.

Professor Marilyn Seguire, Faculty of Nursing, for her long-standing commitment to address health-related issues in the public school system; and for her service on various boards and trustee committees that support children’s learning.  Professor Seguire has coordinated support groups for seniors who are living with chronic respiratory conditions and she volunteers with the public health nurses in the Transcona School Division who deliver the family life curriculum.  Professor Seguire also coordinated the Faculty’s “Books with Wings” project which involved collecting, cataloguing and shipping more than 300 health-related books to universities and institutes in Afghanistan.