Full Moon Ceremonies

Boozhoo and Tansi! Welcome to those of you who are interested in learning about Full Moon Ceremonies. Christine Cyr, director of the Indigenous Student Centre, runs this group.

Here are some details from Christine to help get you started:

WHAT IS IT?
Full Moon Ceremony to honour ourselves, other women, and our relationship with the Grandmother Moon. A time to come together and celebrate life.

WHEN?
Every month on the day before or after the actual Full Moon (because I also attend Full Moon Ceremonies in Peguis each month and those are on the actual FM dates).
The start time varies, depending on the time of year. Since it has started getting darker earlier, this month’s ceremony will start at 5:30pm.

WHERE?
Fire pit outside Migizii Agamik - Bald Eagle Lodge (if it is too cold or in case of extreme rain or snow, we will meet in the Circle Room). The doors to the building will be locked, but you can come around to the fire pit area. We will try to leave that door open, but if it’s not, just knock loudly. Worst case scenario, call my cell and I will come open the door. 204-470-6572.

WHO IS IT FOR?
Any and all girls and women, including women on their Moon Time.

WHAT TO BRING
-yellow cloth (usually half a metre of yellow broadcloth. I will keep extra cloth on hand for students or those who may need to borrow some).
-tobacco (just enough to put a handful into your cloth. Again, I will have extra tobacco on hand for students).
-long skirt. (If you do not have a long skirt, we have several here for borrowing).
-lawn chair
-snack to contribute to the sharing Feast afterwards
-warm clothes, blanket, etc. for cold weather

Please contact me if you have any questions. I look forward to celebrating with you!

Ekosi, Miigwetch!
Christine
christine.cyr@umanitoba.ca

DATES FOR FULL MOON CEREMONIES
(all beginning at 5:30pm)


2017
Thursday, September 7
Tuesday, October 3
Monday, November 6
Saturday, December 2

2018
Tuesday, January 2
Tuesday, January 30
Friday, March 2
Friday, March 30
Saturday, April 28
Monday, May 28
Tuesday, June 26